Kansas win 10th consecutive Conference Championship

Published Add your comment

Football News

The Kansas Jayhawks defeated Oklahoma Sooners  83-75 to clinch a share in their 10th consecutive Big 12 conference championship.

Five Kansas players ended the night on double figures with Naadir Tharpe topped them all with 19 points to realize his dream winning a championship in front of the home crowd in Kansas.

Tharpe said: "To be at home, to hear the fans and all that, it's a beautiful feeling. It just shows the tradition of Kansas and what it means to us."

Wayne Selden and Andrew Wiggins put up 15 points each and Joel Embiid had 12 points and 13 rebounds for the Number 5 Kansas.

Despite being down by more than one basket on multiple occasions Oklahoma refused to die and came back to within just a few points several times but were never able to get ahead of the home side.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:


Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again