Usually in baseball, a run is scored after a hit or walk, and if an out is recorded when a run scores, its a sacrifice.
In this case, the Yankees sacrificed the out the out for a run, in a spot you might not have thought they would.
Its explained in the video above, but usually catcher's interference results in the runner being awarded first base, but because there was a runner on third, the Yankees had an option.
This is another good opportunity to dust off your baseball rule book, for one of the more obscure rulings in the MLB this season.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms