Chicago Bulls Joakim Noah emulates legend Michael Jordan

Published Add your comment

Football News

Chicago Bulls Center Joakim Noah has won the NBA's Defensive Player of the Year award after helping to guide the bulls to the league-low of 99.8 points conceded per game this season.

Noah received 555 of a possible 1,125 points including 100 first-place votes from various sports writers across the USA and Canada.

Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received.

Noah has had a great season with the Bulls playing in 80 of their 82 matches and is ranked sixth in the NBA for rebounding and 12th overall in blocks.

Indiana Pacers Roy Hibbert came in second place in the vote while the LA Clippers DeAndre Jordan came third.

Noah becomes the first Chicago Bulls player to take the award since Michael Jordan picked up the honour following the 1987-88 season.

The Bulls went 48-34 this season and Noah's contributions were recognised on Monday night.

Indiana Pacers
LA Clippers
Michael Jordan
Chicago Bulls

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport - NBA Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again