Gregg Popovich voted NBA Coach of the Year

Published Add your comment

Football News

After leading the San Antonio Spurs to a 62-20 regular season, Gregg Popovich has been named NBA Coach of the Year by the league today.

A typically understated character, Popovich will likely pay little attention to the award, but the Red Auerback Trophy could not have found a more worthy home after the 65-year old masterminded his fifteenth consecutive 50-plus win season in San Antonio.

Winning the award for the third time in his career, an achievement matched by only Pat Riley and Don Nelson previously, Popovich received 59 first-placed votes and 380 balloting points from sportswriters and broadcasters across the U.S. 

Phoenix Suns' Jeff Hornacek ran him close after a hugely impressive debut season with the surprise package of the league this year.

Hornacek received 337 points, with Bulls' Tim Thibodeau completing the top three.

Popovich is busy preparing his San Antonio team for game two of their first-round NBA Playoff series against the Dallas Mavericks, which takes place Tuesday night.

Phoenix Suns
San Antonio Spurs

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again