Major League Baseball has adjusted the transfer rule, effectively immediately, and will essentially revert back to the same rule last season, reports CBS Sports.
Under the now defunct new rule, a player had to cleanly transfer the ball from his glove to his throwing hand before it was cleared as a legitimate catch.
Before this season, bobbling the transfer was still considered out - a rule of thumb which had stood since baseball's inception.
The new rule has caused plenty of controversy since coming into play at the start of 2014 with players and coaches questioning the interpretation of the new rule.
MLB arranged a meeting between the umpires' union and the players' union to agree a upon a revision, which essentially brings it back to where it started.
Now a catch, forceout or tag will be considered legal if the fielder in question has the ball under control in his glove, but drops the ball transferring the ball to his throwing hand.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms