Premier League: Alternative team of the year (1)

Published 2 Comments

Football News

The PFA team of the year was announced on Sunday evening and, for the first time since 1990, there were no Manchester United players included. No great surprise really considering the disastrous campaign they have endured; a season which cost David Moyes his job.

And, like 1990, the team had a very Liverpool feel about it with captain Steven Gerrard picked in the midfield and Luis Suarez, voted the player of the year, up front alongside clubmate Daniel Sturridge. The two have scored a remarkable 50 league goals between them this term.

The voting process in the PFA awards is a flawed one and attracts derision every season but, on this occasion, there are few glaring errors in the XI selected by the players. But GiveMeSport has picked an alternative XI of players anyway, with the only selection rule being that they players did not make the PFA team.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Premier League

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again