England select squad for Scotland trip

Published Add your comment

Football News

The new era of English cricket has taken a step forward on Thursday afternoon after Peter Moores and the England selectors named their first squad under the new regime which will take on Scotland on 9th May.

Aberdeen is the host venue for the one-off One Day International fixture before the T20 and ODI series against Sri Lanka gets under way later this month and there has been no real surprises in the first selection of the summer.

Yorkshire’s Gary Ballance has been rewarded with a call-up to the 13-man squad after a strong opening to the County Championship season. The 24-year-old is the leading scorer in Division One and has already hit two centuries this season.

Perhaps the main talking point revolves around the non-inclusion of Nottinghamshire duo of Michael Lumb and Alex Hales who both impressed on the recent tours of West Indies and Bangladesh. Lumb hit a century on his ODI debut whilst Hales became the first Englishman to reach three figures in international T20 cricket.

There has been some joy for the Nottingham based club though with left-arm pace bowler Harry Gurney the only uncapped player in the squad.

Lancashire pace bowler James Anderson returns to the one-day side for the first time since June 2013 and Yorkshire batsman Joe Root is included following his recovery from a broken thumb which occurred during the one-day series win against West Indies in March.

National selector, James Whitaker, said: “The start of the international summer is always incredibly exciting for everyone involved in England cricket and it has been pleasing to see so many players in good form early on this season.

“On behalf of the selectors I would like to wish new coach Peter Moores, Alastair Cook and the whole squad all the best for a good performance against Scotland in what we know will be a very competitive fixture.”

The squad will meet for two days of ODI preparation in Loughborough prior to flying to Scotland and will therefore be unavailable for the round of LV= County Championship fixtures commencing Sunday 4 May.

England 13 man squad:

Alastair Cook (Essex) (Captain)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

James Anderson (Lancashire)

Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)

Ian Bell (Warwickshire)

Ravi Bopara (Essex)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire)

Chris Jordan (Sussex)

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

James Tredwell (Kent)

Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

England cricket

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again