Justin Rose has described his two-stroke deduction during the third round at the Players Championship as a "bitter pill to swallow."
Rose moved the ball very slightly as he addressed it on the final hole of Saturday's round. The penalty means Rose will fall from a tie of eighth to joint 13th.
Two shots had put Rose at the back of the green on the par four 18th. Rose was preparing to chip from 20 feet away from the hole but when addressing the ball, he felt the ground underneath give way.
Slow motion television replays showed that there had been a slight move towards the toe of his sand wedge. Rose described the move of the ball as "a quarter of a dimple."
The penalty meant that Rose carded a score of one-over par and all but ended his outside chance of winning the 'fifth major.'
"That was a bitter pill to swallow at the end of a battling day," Rose told reporters after his presumed par at the last has now changed to a double-bogey six. "In some ways, it is my own fault for trying to be my own rules official.
"I hit it through the back of 18 and as I soled my club, there's some really abnormal ground conditions there and I was expecting to have a fairway lie and put my club down.
"And it was a very, incredibly spongy, thatchy, bit of fairway and the whole sort of surface underneath my wedge gave way. And at that point you make a call. Did my ball move? Did it just sort of move with the turf and oscillate?"
Rose and his playing partner Sergio Garcia watched a replay on a giant television screen on the 18th green and decided there had been no ball movement.
However, officials reviewed the incident later on video in the television compound and was given a one stroke penalty for his ball moving whilst addressing it. He was then given a further stroke penalty for not replacing the ball after it had moved.
Rose was disappointed with the decision but is just looked to put it behind him and enjoy the final round on Sunday.
"Under 50 times magnification in the truck, maybe the ball moved a quarter of a dimple toward the toe of the club and obviously, if the ball moved, it moved and I get assessed an extra stroke penalty," said Rose.
"Whereas if, in the moment, I would have called the rules official, I would have only been assessed one stroke by moving it back. But as a player you have to make that judgment call.
"It's disappointing. I've gone from trying to chip in to make three to walking off with six. At least the right decision's been made. The ball moved. I made a mistake. It's not a one-stroke penalty, it's two. I got to just move on tomorrow."
Rose will go into the final day at Sawgrass now seven strokes behind leaders Martin Kaymer of Germany and American Jordan Spieth.
Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here: https://gms.to/1a2u3KU
DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms