England announce Sri Lanka squads

Published Add your comment

Football News

England have named their squads for the NatWest T20 and opening three One Day International fixtures against Sri Lanka, starting next week with Michael Carberry the surprise inclusion.

National Selector James Whitaker has announced a 13-man squad for the T20 at the Kia Oval on Tuesday 20th May while a 14-man squad has been selected for the opening of the Royal London One-Day Series which will be captained by Eoin Morgan and Alastair Cook respectively.

The Middlesex limited overs skipper will lead his country in the absence of Stuart Broad who is undergoing a period of rest and rehabilitation on his right knee after a heavy workload over the past 12 months caused tendinitis issues.

There are only two uncapped players in either squad with Carberry and Harry Gurney not yet selected for a T20 international. Moeen Ali will be the player to feel unfortunate after missing out on the ODI squad while Jade Dernbach and Luke Wright are not involved in either squad.

Cook's ODI squad sees the addition of Yorkshire all-rounder Tim Bresnan and batsman Carberry from the group that recently defeated Scotland by 39 runs in Aberdeen in a rain affected ODI.

The opening 50-over-a-side game is next Thursday, 22nd of May at the Kia Oval before Durham host the second fixture, followed by a game at Old Trafford.

Sri Lanka will be playing their first fixture since being crowned world champions and Whitaker said: "Playing the World T20 Champions in front of a home crowd is a hugely exciting opportunity for this squad. With Stuart currently unavailable we have chosen Eoin to lead the side and I would like to wish him and the rest of the squad all the very best.

"We are entering an important period of 50-over cricket with a World Cup less than nine months away and this series against a skilful Sri Lankan side offers a chance to regain some momentum and for players to demonstrate the skill and passion we will need if we are to be serious contenders next year in Australia and New Zealand."

England T20 squad:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (Capt), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Michael Carberry (Hampshire), Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire) , Chris Jordan (Sussex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

England ODI squad (Matches 1-3):

Alastair Cook (Essex) (Capt), James Anderson (Lancashire), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Michael Carberry (Hampshire), Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), James Tredwell (Kent) , Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Sri Lanka cricket
England cricket

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again