Julian Arredondo cruises to Stage 18 victory

Published Add your comment

Football News

Julian Arredondo rode clear of the breakaway during Stage 18 of the Giro d'Italia to claim the biggest win of his career.

Arredondo crossed the finish line 17 seconds ahead of Fabio Duarte to take his first Grand Tour win.

After taking maximum points in the first two climbs of the stage today, the Colombian has all but won the King of the Mountains classification which he has held since stage eight.

With four kilometres to go Arredondo attacked the breakaway group and with a surge of pace which no one could follow he found himself crossing the line on his own.

Arredondo praised his coach, Josu Larrazabal, for helping him achieve the victory.

The 25-year-old said, according to Sky Sports: "I didn't imagine for a moment that today could be my day. My coach, Josu Larrazabal, believed in me.

"At the foot of the final climb, I wanted to attack, but Josu said, 'Take it easy, not yet'.

"Then, much higher up, he said, 'Julián, now!' So I won the stage because of his advice. He gave me the calm and the patience, and the day ended perfectly for me. I dedicate this stage win to him."

Nairo Quintana remains in control of the pink jersey after finishing just ahead of second placed Rigoberto Uran, meaning his lead is still one minute 41 seconds.

Cadel Evans lost valuable time today and dropped from third place to ninth. Pierre Rolland takes his place on the bottom of the podium, three minutes 29 seconds down on Quintana.

Stage 18 result

1 Julian Arredondo (Col) Trek Factory Racing, 4:49:51
2 Fabio Duarte (Col) Colombia, +17secs
3 Philip Deignan (Ire) Team Sky, +37
4 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela, +1:20
5 Edoardo Zardini (Ita) Bardiani-CSF, +1:24
6 Thomas de Gendt (Bel) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step, +1:38
7 Ivan Basso (Ita) Cannondale, +1:43
8 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Team Sky, +1:59
9 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana, +2:43
10 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar, +2:46

General classification

1 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar, 77:58:08
2 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step, +1:41
3 4 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Europcar, +3:29
4 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana, +3:31
5 Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo, +3:31
6 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +3:52
7 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin-Sharp, +4:32
8 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Belkin, +4:37
9 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC, +4:59
10 Robert Kiserlovski (Ned) Trek Factory Racing, +8:33

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Giro d'Italia

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again