American Jason Millard will not compete in next weeks US Open after calling a delayed penalty on himself during qualifying.
Millard qualified in Memphis on the 2 June but waited five days before admitting that he was "pretty sure" he grounded his club in the bunker, meaning he should have taken a penalty stroke.
He was playing his third shot on the 18th hole of Colonial Country Club's North Course, his 27th hole of the day, when the penalty occurred.
Millard admits that he wasn't completely sure he had grounded his club but whilst preparing for the tournament, knew he had to report it.
"I'm pretty sure I grounded my club in the bunker,' Millard is quoted in the Daily Mail as saying. He was not disqualified until June 7.
"I didn't see anything for sure but I felt something and I saw a small indentation. It happened so fast I really don't know 100 per cent, but deep down I believe I did. I couldn't find peace about it. For five days I practiced and I couldn't get it off my mind."
Despite the disappointment of missing out of the event at Pinehurst, Millard is aware he had to disqualify himself.
"It's heart-breaking but what I was feeling in my heart didn't feel right. It's the right decision and I am sticking with it."
Daniel B Burton, USGA vice president and chairman of the championship committee appreciated Millard's honesty but insists they were left with no choice but to take appropriate action.
"We commend Jason for bringing this matter to our attention. At this time we have no recourse but to disqualify him under the Rules of Golf and specifically Rule 34-1b."
Rule 34-1b suggests that a player must be disqualified after a competition has closed if he has returned a score which failed to include a penalty which he knew had had incurred.
Millard will be replaced in the field at Pinehurst by American amateur Sam Love, the second alternate from the same qualifying site.
However, Millard isn't the only player to miss out on a chance of playing at the US Open due to a scoring error.
Landon Michelson, a 22-year old amateur was disqualified last week for signing an incorrect scorecard.
A genuine mistake from Michelson resulted in him signing for a 70 during his second round rather than a 71. Michelson admitted his error instantly meaning his dream of playing in the US Open would not be realised next week.
Write for GiveMeSport! Sign-up to the GMS Writing Academy here: https://gms.to/1a2u3KU
DISCLAIMER: This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms