Matteo Trentin wins stage seven after photo finish

Published Add your comment

Football News

Matteo Trentin sprinted to victory on stage seven of the Tour de France after beating Peter Sagan in a photo finish.

Trentin was propelled forward by an excellent lead out train set up by Omega Pharma-Quickstep and it was enough to hold off Sagan on the line.

The Italian won by a tyres width which stopped Sagan picking up his first win of the 2014 Tour. Sagan was the favourite to win this stage as it suited his style of riding, with two category four climbs in the last 20km.

Trentin admitted he hadn't realised he had won until he saw the photo finish and praised his teammates for their hard work.

According to Sky Sports, Omega Pharma-Quickstep rider said: "It was only on the photo finish that I saw that I won, by about a centimetre and a half.

"It was a really stressful run-in to the line. I couldn't see who was alongside me, I didn't know who was taking the pace up.

"Thanks to Tony Martin and Jan Bakelants, I managed to get myself into the position right at the end to come out on top. I did use a lot of energy up to get this victory, but after so much bad luck, it was really good for us to get a victory today."

Stage seven was the second longest stage in the race (234.5km) and race leader Vincenzo Nibali crossed the line with his main rivals to remain in yellow for another day.

General classification contenders Tejay Van Garderen and Jurgen Van Den Broeck lost time though with Van Garderen losing one minute and three seconds and Van Den Broeck conceding one minute 23 seconds.

Nibali was happy he made it through the day without being involved in any crashes.

The Italian said: "There's no such thing as an easy stage. It was a very fast speed and there were a few falls, so it was quite stressful at the end. I'm feeling very good. The important thing is to have got through this very long day without having any accidents."

Stage seven result

1 Matteo Trentin (Ita) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, 05:18:39
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale, same time
3 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Belisol, st
4 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Giant-Shimano, st
5 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge, st
6 Daniel Oss (Ita) BMC, st
7 Cyril Gautier (Fra) Europcar, st
8 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) IAM Cycling, st
9 Sep Vanmarcke (Ned) Belkin, st
10 Greg van Avermaet (Bel) BMC, st

General classification

1 Vincenzo Niabli (Ita) Astana, 29:57:04
2 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana, +2secs
3 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale, +44
4 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, +50
5 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto-Belisol, +1:45
6 Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky, +1:54
7 Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin-Sharp, +1:56
8 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar, +2:11
9 Romain Bardet (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, same time
10 Rui Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida, st

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Vincenzo Nibali
Tour De France

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again