Jameis Winston and Marcus Mariota top the QB Watch List

Published Add your comment

Football News

Jameis Winston is back in the headlines for his actions on the football field, or at least for what he might be doing on the field this season for Florida State.

Winston topped the watch list of players released Wednesday for the Davey O'Brien award, which goes to the top college quarterback in the country.

Winston, who led Florida State to the BCS National Championship last season, won the award last season in addition to the Heisman Trophy.

Wrong Reasons

The redshirt sophomore has been in the news for all the wrong reasons since January, including being cited for shoplifting and an investigation into an alleged sexual assault where no charges were filed.

Winston is one of six returning players from last season's list to be included on this season's list. Marcus Mariota of Oregon, Brett Hundley of UCLA, Braxton Miller of Ohio State, Bryce Petty of Baylor, and Sean Mannion of Oregon State were also on last season's list.

Some of the more recognizable newcomers on this year's 39-player list include: Duke's Anthony Boone, Notre Dame's Everett Golson, Navy's Keenan Reynolds, and Kansas State's Jake Waters.

Older the Better

19 of the 39 players on the list are seniors and 13 are juniors. The PAC-12 has the most players on the list with eight, while the Big 12, Big Ten, and SEC all have three players represented.

Winston is seeking to become the first back-to-back recipient of the award since Oklahoma's Jason White in 2003-04. Winston would be the fourth quarterback to win two consecutive awards.

Winston threw for 4,057 yards, 40 touchdowns and 10 interceptions while completing 66.9 last season and should have plenty of protection this season from an offensive line that returns four starters.

Mariota Machine

Mariota threw for 3,665 yards and 31 touchdowns with four interceptions last season and ran for 715 yards despite being limited by a knee injury throughout November, giving him a school-record 4,380 yards of total offense for the season.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is handed out by a selection committee asked to consider academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship along with quarterback play. Semifinalists will be announced in early November, and three finalists will be named in late November.

The award will be handed out on December 11 at the Home Depot College Football awards.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

BCS Rankings

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again