Evander Holyfield to be presented by Mike Tyson at Hall of Fame induction

Published Add your comment

Football News

Evander Holyfield is set to be introduced into the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame and the man to present him is the same man that bit part of his ear off in 1997, Mike Tyson.

The former heavyweight champions have come along way since their infamous bout in June of '97, the whole world was in shock when Tyson was disqualified in the third round for taking a bite out of Holyfield's ear.

The pair have put all the ill feelings behind them since the championship rematch and have even appeared in television commercials mocking the biting incident.

Now they both will be reunited at the Tropicana in Las Vegas where Holyfield will be inducted into the Nevada hall of fame, Tyson will serve as his presenter when proceedings get underway on the 9th of August.

Tyson described the opportunity of presented Holyfield as a "Privilege and a high honour." and the man receiving the hall of fame trophy is very pleased with Tyson's participation in the event.

The former rivals coming together is an incredible occasion, Rich Marotta who is a longtime boxing broadcaster and also the president of the Nevada Boxing hall of fame is delighted with the arrangement the two have worked out.

He commented on the enshrinement: "This is the kind of thing we showed is possible in boxing last year at our inaugural induction ceremony -- former and even current rivals coming together under the same roof to celebrate boxing. Everyone checks those rivalries at the door. Tyson presenting Holyfield is sheer magic."

The ceremony picks its associates from a 35-member panel, alongside Holyfield will be other boxers enshrined such as George Foreman and Roberto Duran, these three boxers make up the non-Nevada-resident category of the event.

The rest of the men who will also be awarded the hall of fame trophy are as follows:

Sonny Liston and Cornelius Boza Edwards (Nevada-resident boxers category), Jack Dempsey and Archie Moore (pioneers), Joe Louis (adoptive Nevada resident), trainer Miguel Diaz (non-boxers), Richard Steele and Kenny Bayless (officials), Col. Bob Sheridan and Kevin Iole (media), Bruce Trampler (promotions), Chuck Minker and Luther Mack (executives), and Clifford Perlman and Steve Wynn (special contributors).

The 18-man class of 2014 was announced in February, now all inductees will head to Las Vegas in August.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:


Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again