James Taylor to lead England Lions for ODI series

Published Add your comment

Football News

James Taylor has been announced as England Lions captain ahead of August's triangular one-day series with Sri Lanka A and New Zealand A.

The squad will be coached by Technical Director of Elite Coaching and former Head Coach Andy Flower, and plays both touring teams twice across the series.


The 13-man squad includes a mix of international experience and players who have been rewarded for excellent displays in county cricket this year.

Seven of the squad have already been capped by England in the international arena, with Ravi Bopara, Jonny Bairstow, Steven Finn and Taylor all with Test caps to their names, Harry Gurney having played in both forms of one-day cricket and Steven Parry and Alex Hales limited to T20I appearances.

The rest of the squad is made up of players who have excelled in county cricket this season.


Jason Roy has the most runs in this year's t20 Blast competition, and David Willey was man of the match in last year's final. 

Ravi Patel has bowled consistently across all formats of the game in the past two seasons, and Chief Selector James Whitaker said of him: "We are delighted to welcome Ravi Patel from Middlesex into a Lions squad for the first time and look forward to what promises to be a closely contested series against two highly competitive touring sides.”

James Vince of Hampshire has been on a lean run recently, but his early season runs were enough to propel him into the squad. Tom Smith of Lancashire is 28, which makes him older than most of the 13-man party, but his all-round performances have clearly caught the eyes of the selection panel.

Finally, Craig Overton of Somerset makes up the thirteen, having leapt ahead of twin brother Jamie in the opinions of the Cidermen's coaching staff and the selectors. His 99 against Lancashire in the County Championship proved that he is a genuine all-rounder, and his bowling in 4-day and t20 cricket has been exemplary.

England Lions Squad: James Taylor (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Ravi Bopara, Steven Finn, Stephen Parry, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Craig Overton, Jason Roy, Ravi Patel, Tom Smith, James Vince, David Willey.

Fixtures: August 6: England Lions v Sri Lanka A – Taunton

August 8: England Lions v New Zealand A – Bristol

August 11: England Lions v Sri Lanka A – Worcester

August 12: England Lions v New Zealand A – Worcester

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Jonny Bairstow
Steven Finn
England cricket

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again