Vincenzo Nibali wins stage 18 to extend his Tour de France lead

Published 1 Comments

Football News

Vincenzo Nibali extends his overall lead in the Tour de France after winning stage 18 in the Pyrenees.

Nibali is now seven minutes and 10 seconds ahead of second placed Thibaut Pinot but with only three stages to go it is unlikely that his lead will be caught.

Thriving in the mountains

Stage 18 had another summit finish and it was Nibali who thrived once again in the mountains. The Italian left his main general classification rivals behind with around 10km to go and finally caught the breakaway leader Mikel Nieve with 8km left.

The Astana rider crossed the line on his own after blowing the rest of the field away. Thibaut Pinot finished in second, one minute 10 seconds behind him.

Related Articles

- Tour de France disappoints without Froome & Contador
- Vincenzo Nibali: Unstoppable in the mountains?

Nibali hails 'important' win

Nibali dedicated the stage win to his team and was pleased to win a stage in the Pyrenees.

According to Sky Sports, Nibali said: “Today wasn’t for the rankings; I just wanted another stage win. The team have worked so hard for me throughout these three weeks. To win a stage in the Pyrenees is very important, and it’s for the whole team.”

Alejandro Valverde struggled on the final climb and drops to fourth overall in the standings, with Pinot and Jean-Christophe Peraud moving up to second and third.

Rafal Majka finished third today and this result means that he has now won the King of the Mountains polka dot jersey.

Nibali looks set to be only the sixth ever cyclist to win all three Grand Tours on Sunday.

Stage 18 result

1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana, 4:04:17
2 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ, +1:10
3 Rafał Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo, +1:12
4 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +1:15
5 Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC, st
6 Romain Bardet (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +1:53
7 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin, +1:57
8 Leopold Konig (Cze) Team NetApp – Endura, st
9 Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek Factory Racing, +1:59
10 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team, st

General classification

1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana, 80:45:45
2 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ, +7:10
3 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +7:23
4 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar, +7:25
5 Romain Bardet (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +9:27
6 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC, +11:34
7 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin, +13:56
8 Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Belkin, +14:15
9 Leopold Konig (Cze) NetApp-Endura, +14:37
10 Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek Factory Racing, +16:25

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Tour De France
Vincenzo Nibali

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again