Ramunas Navardauskas wins stage 19 of Tour de France

Published Add your comment

Football News

Ramunas Navardauskas becomes the first Lithuanian to win a stage of the Tour de France after the Garmin-Sharp rider broke clear on stage 19.

Navardauskas made his move 14km from the end of the stage on the final climb of the day and was never caught by the chasing sprinters who were hoping the flat finish would suit them better.

Seven seconds

The Lithuanian finished seven seconds ahead of the sprinters, with John Degenkolb taking second place and Alexander Kristoff crossing the line in third.

Navardauskas praised his team-mates for their hard work and admitted it was a dream to win at the Tour de France.

Related Articles

- Tour de France winner won't race again
- Nibali closing on Le Tour glory

The Garmin-Sharp rider said, according to Sky Sports: “It was my dream to win a stage in the Tour de France – everybody wants to do it – and I’m happy I could make it. I’m really thankful for my team-mates for this. It was the team’s plan, right from the beginning.”

Big crash

A crash in the last three kilometres of the race helped Navardauskas get the stage win because some of the sprinters were caught up in the crash. Peter Sagan was one of the riders to fall meaning his hopes of the stage win were over.

Race leader Vincenzo Nibali avoided the crash but rivals Jean-Christophe Peraud and Romain Bardet were involved in the pile up. Luckily for them though because the crash happened within the last three kilometres every rider got the same finishing time.

Nibali on course

If Nibali can avoid disaster during stage 20's time trial he will have already unofficially won the Tour before even reaching Paris.

Stage 19 result

1 Ramunas Navardauskas (Ltu) Garmin Sharp, +4:43:41
2 John Degenkolb (Ger) Giant-Shimano, +0:07
3 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha, same time
4 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, st
5 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Tinkoff-Saxo, st
6 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, st
7 Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +0:09
8 Julien Simon (Fra) Cofidis, st
9 Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team, st
10 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Belisol, st

General classification

1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana, 85:29:26
2 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ, +7:10
3 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +7:23
4 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar, +7:25
5 Romain Bardet (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +9:27
6 Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC, +11:34
7 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin, +13:56
8 Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Belkin, +14:15
9 Leopold Konig (Cze) NetApp-Endura, +14:37
10 Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek Factory Racing, +16:25

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Tour De France
Vincenzo Nibali

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again