Vincenzo Nibali wins the 2014 Tour de France

Published Add your comment

Football News

Vincenzo Nibali won the Tour de France on Sunday, becoming only the sixth ever cyclist to win all three Grand Tours.

Nibali win

Nibali enjoyed the ride into Paris and even sipped champagne with his teammates just after the start of the stage.

The Italian managed to safely make it round the eight laps of the Champs-Elysees and finished within the peloton after Marcel Kittel sprinted to victory to claim his fourth stage win in the 2014 race.

Kittel just managed to outsprint Alexander Kristoff, who mounted a good challenge towards the line. The German has now won twice on the Champs-Elysees, with the other win coming last year.

Happy Kittel

Kittel was happy with the result and admitted it was a close sprint.

“I tried to pass Kristoff at the end and at one moment he couldn’t accelerate any more, and that was my moment to pass him just before the finish line. I am super proud and very happy," he was quoted by Sky Sports.

Nibali is the first Italian to win the Tour de France since Marco Pantani in 1998. The Astana leader finished the Tour seven minutes and 52 seconds ahead of Jean-Christophe Peraud and eight minutes and 24 seconds ahead of Thibaut Pinot.

Related articles

Tour de France: Tony Martin wins stage 20

Ramunas Navardauskas wins stage 19 of Tour de France

Bradley Wiggins won’t ride Tour de France

The Italian had been on the verge of winning the tour for a while after taking control during the mountainous stages last week and it was clear when he finished that he was relieved it was finally over.

The team award went to Ag2r-La Mondiale with Belkin Pro Cycling coming in second and Movistar finishing in third.

Stage 21 result

1 Marcel Kittel (Ger) Giant-Shimano, 3:20:50
2 Alexander Kristoff (Nor)Katusha, same time
3 Ramunas Navardauskas (Lth) Garmin Sharp, st
4 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol, st
5 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, st
6 Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Team Sky, st
7 Bryan Coquard (Fra) Europcar, st
8 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, st
9 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale, st
10 Romain Feillu (Fra) Bretagne - Séché Environnement, st

General classification

1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana, 89:58:46
2 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +7:52
3 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ, +8:24
4 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar, +9:55
5 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC, +11:44
6 Romain Bardet (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +11:46
7 Leopold Konig (Cze) NetApp – Endura, +14:41
8 Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek Factory Racing, +18:12
9 Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Belkin, +18:20
10 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin, +21:24

Other Results

Green jersey: Peter Sagan

Polka-dot jersey: Rafal Majka

White jersey: Thibaut Pinot

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Tour De France
Vincenzo Nibali

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again