Zdenek Stybar sprints to Eneco Tour stage two victory

Published Add your comment

Football News

Zdenek Stybar sprinted to victory in stage two of the Eneco Tour to move into the overall race lead.

Stybar outsprinted Lars Boom and Sep Vanmarcke to claim the stage win and after picking up the bonus seconds for finishing first he now finds himself at the top of the general classification going into stage three.

Boom - who came second on stage two - is now second overall and just one second behind the leader. Stage one winner Andrea Guardini finished 14 seconds behind Stybar and is now out of the top 10.

Three-man breakaway

Stage two saw a three man breakaway escape early on made up of Kevin Van Melsen, Pavel Brutt and Alexis Gougeard and to the astonishment of the peloton, they managed to stay out in front until just under five kilometres to go.

Omega Pharma-Quickstep, Garmin-Sharp and Belkin put in a lot of work to ensure the peloton caught up with the breakaway but a crash with around eight kilometres to go meant that another 25 riders were able to make it to the line in front.

Related articles

Bradley Wiggins won't ride in the Vuelta a Espana

Andrea Guardini wins stage one of the Eneco Tour

Vincenzo Nibali will not win another Tour de France

Roundabout crash

A crash on a roundabout caused the peloton to split and Stybar was fortunately on the right side of the crash. He powered past Bauke Mollema on the run towards the finish line and no-one was able to match his speed.

Stybar is the Czech Republic champion and rides for Omega Pharma-Quickstep and he will hope he can add more wins to his name during the Eneco Tour.

There are only 10 seconds between the first ten riders so going into stage three, the race is definitely up for grabs.

Stage Two result

1 - Zdenek Štybar (CZE) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step - (4:06:15)
2 - Lars Boom (NED) - Belkin - (+0)
3 - Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) - Belkin - (+0)
4 - Marco Marcato (ITA) - Cannondale - (+0)
5 - Manuel Quinziato (ITA) - BMC Racing - (+0)
6 - Roy Jans (BEL) - Wanty - (+0)
7 - Davide Appollonio (ITA) - AG2R - (+0)
8 - Bauke Mollema (NED) - Belkin - (+0)
9 - Julien Vermote (BEL) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step - (+0)
10 - Stig Broeckx (BEL) - Lotto - (+0)

General Classification

1 - Zdenek Štybar (CZE) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step - (8:20:39)
2 - Lars Boom (NED) - Belkin - (+1)
3 - Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) - Belkin - (+6)
4 - Pavel Brutt (RUS) - Katyusha - (+7)
5 - Philippe Gilbert (BEL) - BMC Racing - (+9)
6 - Marco Marcato (ITA) - Cannondale - (+10)
7 - Nikolai Trussov (RUS) - Tinkoff - Saxo - (+10)
8 - Roy Jans (BEL) - Wanty - (+10)
9 - Aidis Kruopis (LTU) - Orica - (+10)
10 - Jens Keukeleire (BEL) - Orica - (+10)

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Tour De France

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again