Tom Dumoulin wins stage three of the Eneco Tour

Published Add your comment

Football News

Tom Dumoulin won stage three of the Eneco Tour after impressing in the 9.6km time trial.

Dumoulin completed the course in 10 minutes and 55 seconds and that was enough to ensure he grabbed only his second professional victory.

Fabian Cancellara finished in second place just two seconds behind Dumoulin and Commonwealth Games gold medallist Geraint Thomas crossed the line in third, 10 seconds behind the leader.

Up to sixth

Thomas moves up to sixth in the overall standings, 14 seconds behind race leader Lars Boom. Stage two winner Zdenek Stybar drops to fifth place in the general classification.

Boom started stage three's time trial one second behind Stybar but after a good ride he is now 12 seconds in front of him. The Belkin rider has a four-second lead over second place Dumoulin, but there is only 21 seconds between first place and tenth place.

Another Commonwealth Games gold medallist, Alex Dowsett, could only manage to finish in 15th place which was disappointing but David Millar had a worse day finishing down in 26th.

Open race

With four stages remaining of this race, anything could happen and with so little time between each rider anyone could win.

Thomas is in fine form going into this race after impressing in the Commonwealth Games and the Tour de France and I think that when the race ends on Sunday he could be in the leader's jersey.

However, with the race being in the Netherlands, the Dutch riders will want to do well so Boom and Dumoulin will be hard to beat in their home country.

Stage three result

1 - Tom Dumoulin (NED) - Giant - (10:55)
2 - Fabian Cancellara (SUI) - Trek - (+2)
3 - Geraint Thomas (GBR) - Team Sky - (+10)
4 - Manuel Quinziato (ITA) - BMC Racing - (+14)
5 - Jesse Sergent (NZL) - Trek - (+15)
6 - Steven Cummings (ENG) - BMC Racing - (+17)
7 - Andriy Grivko (UKR) - Astana - (+17)
8 - Moreno Moser (ITA) - Cannondale - (+18)
9 - Lars Boom (NED) - Belkin - (+19)
10 - Rohan Dennis (AUS) - BMC Racing - (+20)

General classification

1 - Lars Boom (NED) - Belkin - (8:31:54)
2 - Tom Dumoulin (NED) - Giant - (+4)
3 - Manuel Quinziato (ITA) - BMC Racing - (+4)
4 - Andriy Grivko (UKR) - Astana - (+7)
5 - Zdenek Štybar (CZE) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step - (+12)
6 - Geraint Thomas (GBR) - Team Sky - (+14)
7 - Niki Terpstra (NED) - Omega Pharma - Quick-Step - (+18)
8 - Kristjan Koren (SLO) - Cannondale - (+19)
9 - Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) - Belkin - (+21)
10 - Philippe Gilbert (BEL) - BMC Racing - (+21)

Related articles

Zdenek Stybar sprints to Eneco Tour stage two victory

Andrea Guardini wins stage one of the Eneco Tour

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:


Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again