Cristiano Ronaldo favourite to win Best Player in Europe award

Published Add your comment

Football News

Cristiano Ronaldo will have the chance to win the one prize that has so far evaded him in his illustrious career when the winner of UEFA's Best Player in Europe award is announced later this month.

The Portuguese superstar has been included on every three-man shortlist for the prize since its inception in 2011 but has never won it. However that could all change this year, with Ronaldo leading the way on a shortlist alongside Bayern Munich pair Manuel Neuer and Arjen Robben.


Ronaldo enjoyed a spectacular 2013/14 season, helping Real Madrid win the European Cup for the 10th time in their history, and breaking the record for most goals scored in a single European campaign along the way. He also played his part in Los Blancos' Copa del Rey success. 

Related Articles

- Cristiano Ronaldo could oversee most expensive disaster in football history
 Ronaldo reunited with Sir Alex Ferguson after Super Cup win

Neur and Robben helped Bayern to a domestic double in Germany, while the former was a key part of his country's World Cup success in Brazil over the summer and is the first goalkeeper to be nominated for the award.


Robben earned a place on the team of the tournament thanks to his three goals and one assist as the Netherlands finished up in third place.

Of the seven other nominees who failed to make the final shortlist, Lionel Messi is the most high-profile absentee. The Argentinian helped his country to the World Cup final and managed 41 goals in 46 appearances for Barcelona, but was overlooked by the journalists who voted for the final three.


Luis Suarez top scored in the Premier League with 31 goals to his name - form which earned him a £75 million switch to Barcelona, however he was also overlooked, while World Cup winners Thomas Muller and Philipp Lahm missed the cut too.

James Rodriguez, Angel di Maria and Diego Costa are the remaining three from the initial 10-man list that won't be in with a chance of scooping the prize at the ceremony on August 28 in Monaco. 

Franck Ribery is the current holder of the award, while Barcelona duo Lionel Messi and Andres Iniesta are the only other players to have scooped the prize in its short history.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Cristiano Ronaldo
Bayern Munich
Real Madrid

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again