West Indies stars opt for CLT20 over Test series

Published Add your comment

Football News

Two West Indian players have chosen to play in the upcoming Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) instead of representing their country in the Test series against Bangladesh, which gets underway on September 5 in St Vincent.

Even though the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) did not name the two players, it is understood that both of them were likely to play the first Test.

Noe deleterious effec

The WICB added that their "decisions will not have any deleterious effect on consideration for future West Indies selection" since the CLT20 has "an ICC approved window on the international schedule".

Related articles

- India batsman out for the rest of the summer
- Zimbabwe claim Australia ODI scalp

The qualifying round of the CLT20 begins on September 13, which is the same day the second Test against Bangladesh is scheduled to commence.

Second tier squad

But, it is highly likely that the West Indies will field a second-tier squad since many of their top players will be representing the Barbados Tridents, who won the Caribbean Premier League (CPL), in the CLT20.

However, there are seven other West Indian superstars who will be playing for their respective Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises during the CLT20. They are Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Smith, Andre Russell and Samuel Badree.

Holder debut

It has also been announced that pace bowler Jason Holder has been picked for the first Test, which means that he may not represent the Barbados Tridents in the CLT20.

This sort of problem has happened in the past as Narine was not considered for any of the Test matches against New Zealand earlier this year since he decided to play for the Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL final. Due to his absence during that series, Narine's place in the Test squad is now under threat by Shane Shillingford and Sulieman Benn.

Bravo back?

In April, Bravo expressed his desire to play Test cricket once again. However, it remains to be seen whether he picks his country and possibly makes his Test return after almost four years or the Chennai Super Kings.

West Indies squad: Denesh Ramdin (capt), Chris Gayle, Kraigg Brathwaite, Kirk Edwards, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Jermaine Blackwood, Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor, Jason Holder, Shannon Gabriel, Sulieman Benn, Shane Shillingford.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

West Indies cricket

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again