England v India: T20 International Preview

Published Add your comment

Football News

India's mixed tour of England comes to a close on Sunday, with the one-off T20 International at Edgbaston the concluding game.

Having lost the Test series 3-1 and won the ODIs by the same margin, it would definitely be a welcome consolation for the visitors if they were to record a victory over England, a result which would give them more wins on the tour than defeats.

Edgbaston memories

India have happy memories of the ground; having won last year's Champions Trophy final against the same opponents, as they snatched an improbable victory off the final ball, their return this summer saw a crushing 9-wicket ODI win.

The large sub-continental population in Birmingham is also a good sight for MS Dhoni's side - on both of their recent visits, the away support has substantially outnumbered the home fans.

However, as this is a one-off game, with the next World T20 competition in two years' time, it will not be a true problem if the game ends in defeat.

With no-one drafted in after the ODIs for India, it is not a side full of twenty over specialists, and only Sanju Samson and Karn Sharma have made their name in T20 cricket out of the five Indians yet to make their T20 International bows.

Hosts' squad

On the other hand, England have included Jason Roy, Ravi Bopara and James Taylor, none of whom appeared in the ODI series, with Eoin Morgan replacing Alastair Cook as captain.

Morgan acknowledged in Saturday's press conference that opportunities for a spot in the fifty-over squad were at stake, saying "It's obviously a huge opportunity for these guys coming in, given whoever plays to put a statement out there. If they go and get a 50-ball hundred, certainly throws their name within the vicinity of the squad."

The pitch will be a used one, so the slower bowlers on each side, namely Ravi Bopara, Moeen Ali and James Tredwell for England and R Ashwin, Ravi Jadeja and Suresh Raina for India, will be kept interested.

Probable XIs:

England: Roy, Hales, Root, Morgan (c), Ali, Bopara, Buttler (wk), Woakes, Jordan, Tredwell, Finn

India: Rahane, Dhawan, Kohli, Samson, Raina, Dhoni (c/wk), Jadeja, Ashwin, Binny, Kumar, Shami.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

England cricket
Steven Finn
T20 World Cup
India cricket
MS Dhoni
Joe Root

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again