Groups drawn for 2015 Royal London One-Day Cup

Published Add your comment

Football News

The draw for the 2015 Royal London One-Day Cup has been made, with Saturday’s finalists, Durham and Warwickshire, being placed into separate groups.

However, the Bears will play their respective quarter final and last four opponents of Essex and Kent in what is a very Southern-dominated Group B.

Durham will take on the likes of Yorkshire – who they beat in this year’s quarter-finals – in the group stage round of fixtures.

The draw signals the ECB’s intent to stick with a 50-over One-Day cricket competition – something that was absent from the English domestic game for some time before returning in 2014. 

Related articles:
- Durham lift the One-Day Cup at Lord's
- Royal London One-Day Cup will benefit England at 2015 World Cup
- Royal London One-Day: Round-up


Yet again, teams will play everyone in their group once, with four fixtures each both home and away. After those matches have been played, the top four from each pool will progress through to the last eight.

The 50-over format of the tournament is identical to how One Day Internationals function, and there is hope that it will make the jump from county cricket to the international stage more of an easier transition for potential England players.

Dates, times and venues for each fixture will be announced later this year, but for now we at least know who will be playing who at some stage.

Games to look out for 

The big two fixtures in Group A that fans will be eagerly anticipating are likely to be when Yorkshire meet Durham – in a repeat of their 2014 quarter final at Headingley – and the west country clash between Somerset and Gloucestershire.

Meanwhile Group B has a very southern feel to it, with Kent, Hampshire, Sussex, Essex, Middlesex and Glamorgan all involved. Lancashire may feel the strain of having to travel further for away games, with only Nottinghamshire and Warwickshire close to keeping them company. 

The close proximity of a lot of those sides could provide some tasty encounters, with sides knowing their opponents well after playing so much T20 cricket against one another.

Inaugural competition 

The Royal London Cup made its’ debut appearance on cricketing calendars this year and came to a close when Durham defeated Warwickshire in the final at Lord’s last Saturday.

It provided the return of 50-over cricket to county grounds for the first time since the Friends Provident Trophy in 2009 and afforded first-class cricketers the opportunity to play the same format of the game as international stars do.

With the World Cup taking place in Australia and New Zealand next February and March, it will be interesting to see if the ECB reverting from 40-over games has an effect on England’s performance in that competition.

Group A: Yorkshire, Derbyshire, Durham, Gloucestershire, Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, Somerset, Surrey, and Worcestershire.

Group B: Kent, Hampshire, Sussex, Essex, Lancashire, Middlesex, Nottinghamshire, Warwickshire, and Glamorgan.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:


Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again