James Taylor recalled to England ODI Squad

Published Add your comment

Football News

England will depart for their seven match ODI series against Sri Lanka in November and the selectors have announced a 16-man squad that includes six seam bowlers who featured for the national side this summer.

Nottinghamshire captain James Taylor returns to the fold after a year out of the picture, and the twice previously capped batsman will be joined by Ravi Bopara.

Broad out

Stuart Broad continues his knee injury rehabilitation, and remains on the sidelines. He will not make the trip.

National selector James Whitaker said in an ECB statement: “With the ICC Cricket World Cup less than five months away we are very aware that our one-day cricket needs to develop quickly if we are to arrive at the competition ready to compete with the very best sides in the world.

Related Articles

- Lancashire aim to save season
- Northants ring changes after relegation

"This tour to Sri Lanka allows the players and management to focus fully on improving skills in limited overs cricket ahead of final selection for the Cricket World Cup.

Taylor's reward

“Congratulations to James Taylor who has been rewarded for his outstanding form for Nottinghamshire this season and fully deserves another opportunity in the international arena. While Gary Ballance will I’m sure be disappointed to miss out on this tour he knows he remains a very important part of our plans.

“On behalf of the selectors I would like to wish Alastair Cook, Peter Moores and both squads all the very best for the months ahead.”

Despite plenty of speculation, Cook will continue to skipper the side for the forthcoming tour, whilst Alex Hales remains the exciting option at the top of the batting order.

Batting fireworks

Eoin Morgan also adds some explosiveness to the line-up, whilst Ben Stokes will be hoping to replicate his domestic 50-over final performance on the international stage when the opportunity arises.

England squad in full:

Alastair Cook (Essex) (captain)
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Jos Buttler (Lancashire)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Chris Jordan (Sussex)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Ben Stokes (Durham)
James Taylor (Nottinghamshire)
James Tredwell (Kent)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Sri Lanka cricket
England cricket
Joe Root

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again