Conor McGregor tops payouts for UFC 178

Published Add your comment

Football News

Conor McGregor was this weekend's biggest earner, with the Irish fighter pulling in $200,000 for his efforts at UFC 178.

The Irish featherweight earned the most based on the confirmed payouts, with a Performance of the Night bonus putting him just over main eventer, and UFC Flyweight champ, Demetrious 'Mighty Mouse' Johnson.

Johnson earned $183,000, which included a $54,000 win bonus but it was McGregor, who was paid $75,000 to show, $75,000 to win and a further $50,000 as bonus reward.

These payments dwarfed that of their opponents with Chris Cariaso earning just $24,000 for his main event performance. While, McGregor's opponent, Dustin Poirier earned $34,000 for his efforts.

Only the confirmed payouts

The UFC is know for it's pay-per-view bonuses and backstage rewards that mean most fighters will be better off than their confirmed payouts suggest.

For example, Cat Zingano earned $18,000 for her win over Amanda Nunes, in a fight that sealed her number one contendership.

That figure is likely to be significantly different, with UFC President, Dana White suggesting that she'll be 'taken care of' during the post-fight conference.

Related Articles

Drama following controversial UFC 178 decision rolls on
Cruz destroys Mizguaki in crazy UFC video
Conor McGregor set for superstardom

With White also saying that 10% of tickets for the event were bought from Ireland, it's likely that McGregor is going to earn a lot more than the $200,000 that's been reported.

The other big earners of the evening were Dominick Cruz who pulled in $150,000 ($100,000 to show and win, $50,000 in a performance bonus), Donald Cerrone ($126,000) and Eddie Alvarez who banked a cool $100,000 for just showing.

Full list of payouts

Demetrious Johnson: $183,000 (includes $54,000 win bonus)
def. Chris Cariaso: $24,000

Donald Cerrone: $126,000 (includes $63,000 win bonus)
def. Eddie Alvarez: $100,000

Conor McGregor: $150,000 (includes $75,000 win bonus)
def. Dustin Poirier: $34,000

Yoel Romero: $58,000 (includes $29,000 win bonus)
def. Tim Kennedy: $70,000

Cat Zingano: $18,000 (includes $9,000 win bonus)
def. Amanda Nunes: $15,000

Dominick Cruz: $100,000 (includes $50,000 win bonus)
def. Takeya Mizugaki: $32,000

Jorge Masvidal: $90,000 (includes $45,000 win bonus)
def. James Krause: $15,000

Stephen Thompson: $32,000 (includes $16,000 win bonus)
def. Patrick Cote: $33,000

Brian Ebersole: $42,000 (includes $21,000 win bonus)
def. John Howard: $21,000

Kevin Lee: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus)
def. Jon Tuck: $10,000

Manny Gamburyan: $50,000 (includes $25,000 win bonus)
def. Cody Gibson: $10,000

Demetrious Johnson
Dominick Cruz
Conor McGregor
Cat Zingano

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again