ECB announce Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards shortlist

Published Add your comment

Football News

The English Cricket Board has announced the shortlist for the 12th annual NatWest Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards.

BBC commentator Jonathan Agnew will host an esteemed event of 400 guests next week, which will see eight OSCAs presented.

The OSCAs were first founded in 2003 to recognise cricket’s unsung heroes and appreciate the input and influences of grassroots volunteers from all over England and Wales.

The awards are a fundamental part of the ECB’s volunteering programmes which give cricket clubs support on recruiting, rewarding and educating cricket volunteers.

The final shortlist (below) has been chosen by a panel of representatives from the ECB, British Gymnastics, vInspired and NatWest.

Acknowledging the nominees and the event, Mike Gatting ECB’s managing director, cricket partnerships said: “The NatWest OSCAs provide the perfect opportunity to recognise the outstanding contribution volunteers make to our sport.

"The nominees all play an important role in ensuring grassroots cricket continues to flourish and everyone at the ECB is looking forward to seeing these volunteers rewarded.”

See Also

PCA Player of the Year set to be revealed

NatWest OSCAs 2014 nominees

Behind the Scenes

Adrian Jeffrey- Hampset Cricket Club, Somerset
Ian Milne- Old Blandorians Cricket Club, Dorset
Steve Wales- North Leeds Cricket Club, Yorkshire

Building Partnerships

Tariq Ali- Wolverhampton Cricket Club, Staffordshire
Rob Reed- Corsham Cricket Club, Wiltshire
Paul Wood- Chippingdale Cricket Club, Sussex

Leagues and Boards

Stuart Munday- Tavistock Cricket Club, Devon
Sajid Patel- National Cricket League, Essex
Andy Watts- Beds County League, Bedfordshire

Lifetime Achievers

Ivor Chaplin- Brentham Cricket Club, Middlesex
Gerald Evans- Pontarddulais Cricket Club, Wales
Chris Johnson-Knebworth Park Cricket Club, Hertfordshire
Maurice Vaughan- Etwall Cricket Club, Derbyshire

NatWest CricketForce

Basingstoke & North Hants CC- Hampshire
Andy Glover- Portslade Cricket Club, Sussex
Steph Reingold- Stanmore Cricket Club, Middlesex

Officiating- Umpires & Scorers

Avril Acres- Berkshire Officials, Berkshire
Keith Parsons- Irthlingborough Town Cricket Club, Northants
Anne Vine- Welwyn Gardens City Cricket Club, Hertfordshire

Young Volunteer

Ashley Goldsmith- Northwood Cricket Club, IOW
Jordan Hobbis- Cookhill Cricket Club, Worcestershire
Alice South- Papplewick & Linby Cricket Club, Nottinghamshire

England cricket

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again