Volvo World Match Play preview

Published Add your comment

Football News

Five members of Europe's victorious Ryder Cup will return to match-play action this week as they do battle in the 2014 Volvo World Match Play Championship in Kent.

Henrik Stenson, Jamie Donaldson, Victor Dubuisson, Stephen Gallacher and defending champion Graeme McDowell will all be competing at the London Golf Club in a field of 16.

Related articles

Sang-Moon Bae wins Open as rookies impress
Alexander Levy claims Portugal Masters
Patrick Reed returning to match-play action


Last year's event took place in Bulgaria in May with McDowell capturing the trophy at the Thracian Cliffs Golf & Beach Resort.

Also competing this week will be Patrick Reed, the top point scorer for the American Ryder Cup side that were defeated by Europe at Gleneagles.

This year's event represents the 50th anniversary of the tournament and will return to England for the first time since Ernie Els sealed his seventh victory at the traditional home of the West Course at Wentworth.

The London Golf Club will be remembered for staging both the 2008 and 2009 European Open with Ross Fisher and Christian Cevaer winning respectively.

Four players competing this week have recorded top 20 finishes on the London Course with McDowell coming third in 2008, Gallacher 8th in the same year, Donaldson 10th and Mikko Ilonen 14th.


The format of the tournament sees the 16 players split into four groups. These groups are called: Arnold Palmer, Mark McCormack (the founder of IMG), Gustaf Larson and Assar Gabrielsson (the two co-founders of Volvo).

The four highest ranked players according to their Official World Golf Ranking are spread across the four groups with the remaining 12 players making up the rest of each group.

Round robin group matches are then played over 18 holes for the first three days (Wednesday, Thursday, Friday) and a knockout phase over the weekend (quarters on Saturday, semis and final on Sunday).

The winning player in the group matches earns two points with one point each if the match is tied. The top two players in each group progress through to the knock-out rounds.

Below are the four groups and the schedule over the coming days for what promises to be an exciting five days of golf.

Arnold Palmer group: Stenson, Jaidee, Molinari, Coetzee
Mark McCormack group: Donaldson, Reed, Blixt, Casey
Assar Gabrielsson group: Dubuisson, Gallacher, Lowry, Larrazabal
Gustaf Larson group: McDowell, Luiten, Ilonen, Levy



1145 Graeme McDowell v Alexander Levy
1157 Joost Luiten v Mikko Ilonen (Fin)
1209 Henrik Stenson v George Coetzee
1221 Thongchai Jaidee v Francesco Molinari
1233 Jamie Donaldson v Paul Casey
1245 Patrick Reed v Jonas Blixt
1257 Victor Dubuisson v Pablo Larrazabal
1309 Stephen Gallacher, Shane Lowry


1115 Jamie Donaldson v Patrick Reed
1127 Jonas Blixt v Paul Casey
1139 Victor Dubuisson v Stephen Gallacher
1151 Shane Lowry v Pablo Larrazabal
1203 Graeme McDowell v Joost Luiten
1215 Mikko Ilonen v Alexander Levy
1227 Henrik Stenson v Thongchai Jaidee
1239 Francesco Molinari v George Coetzee


1115 Victor Dubuisson v Shane Lowry
1127 Stephen Gallacher, Pablo Larrazabal
1139 Graeme McDowell, Mikko Ilonen
1151 Joost Luiten v Alexander Levy
1203 Henrik Stenson v Francesco Molinari
1215 Thongchai Jaidee v George Coetzee
1227 Jamie Donaldson v Jonas Blixt
1239 Patrick Reed v Paul Casey



1140 QF1 - McCormack winner v Palmer runner-up
1155 QF2 - Gabrielsson winner v Larson runner-up
1210 QF3 - Larson winner v Gabrielsson runner-up
1225 QF4 - Palmer winner v McCormack runner-up



0805 SF1 - QF2 winner v QF3 winner
0820 SF2 - QF1 winner v QF4 winner

Third-place play-off

1215 SF1 loser v SF2 loser


1235 SF1 winner v SF2 winner


Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again