World Golf Hall of Fame class of 2015 announced

Published Add your comment

Football News

Yesterday, the World Golf Hall of Fame announced their latest class of inductees. Mark O’Meara, David Graham, Laura Davies and Albert Warren 'A.W' Tillinghast will have the honour of joining Golf’s most illustrious players, a list that includes Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer.

The selection process that catapulted these worthy individuals into Golfing glory was much different than it had been in previous years. For the first time, the World Golf Hall of Fame had a 16-person committee that voted on 16 finalists from a list scrutinised by a 20-person selection subcommittee.

Related articles

Graeme McDowell makes solid start in defence of Volvo World Match Play title
Martin Kaymer wins PGA Grand Slam
Golfing World News - October 15

Talented pool

Co-chairs and Hall-of-Famers Nancy Lopez, Arnold Palmer, Gary Player and Annika Sorenstam headed the committee, and each new member inducted into the Hall of Fame had to achieve 75% of the committee’s vote.

The pool of inductees this year is certainly a talented one. Mark O’Meara has won 16 times on the PGA Tour. In 1998, he won both the Masters and the Open Championship, and was later named PGA Tour Player of the Year.

“To have the great honor of being inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame is a dream come true,” - Mark O'Meara

Other candidates

Known as one of the best, if not the best British woman golfer of all time, Davies has collected a total of 84 victories worldwide and four majors including the U.S. Women’s Open and two LPGA Championships.

Next is David Graham, who was the first ever captain of the international President’s Cup team, and is considered long overdue for his Hall of Fame admission.

The 68-year-old has won 25 worldwide events, eight PGA Tour titles and two majors, the US Open and PGA Championship. Interestingly enough, Graham is only one of four players along with the likes of Gary Player and Hale Irwin to have won tournaments on six different continents.

Last but not least is A.W. Tillinghast who was one of the great American Golf Course architects, designing over a 100 different American golf courses. Many of the sites he designed, which include Baltusrol, Bethpage State Park, and Winged Foot just to name a few, have played host to many of Golf’s major championships.

The team of four will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame when the ceremony is held on July 13, 2015, also the Monday of Open Championship Week.

European Tour
PGA Tour

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again