Cristiano Ronaldo steals the show at LFP La Liga awards

Published 1 Comments

Football News

Cristiano Ronaldo won the best player award for the first time at the LFP awards on Monday night, along with best forward and best goal, for his sublime finish against Valencia last May. 

Real Madrid also won best goalkeeper, defender and defensive midfielder, with Keylor Navas (Levante player at time), Sergio Ramos and Luka Modric picking up the respective awards in a Real dominated night. 

Atletico Madrid boss Diego Simeone was named best coach for his part in leading his side to surprise La Liga title victory, however all of the club's nominated players left empty handed.


Ronaldo scored an incredible 31 goals, matched with nine assists during the 2013/14 campaign, winning him the top scorer award, three clear of Lionel Messi. 

"I have to thank my team-mates, Real Madrid, my family... it is a very good moment in my career.

Related Articles

"For me, the important thing is to win collective prizes, but I like the individual ones, too. I work every day, in training, to continue adding more to this," the 29-year-old said at the ceremony.

Ronaldo has scored 16 goals in only eight matches this season and if that form continues, he is calculated to score just short of 80 league goals, a record which would almost certainly never be matched.


Although madrid failed to win the La Liga title last time round, Carlo Ancelotti lead the side to Champions League glory for a record tenth time, three more than any other club. 

Real recruited Tony Kroos, James Rodriguez, Keylor Navas and Chicharito Hernandez during the summer break, strengthening hugely on an already world class squad, which now looks one of the best of all time. 

Madrid recorded a 3-1 victory over Barcelona in the El Clasico on Saturday, closing the gap between the two sides to one point, with goals from Ronaldo, Pepe and Karim Benzema.


Despite coach Simeone winning the best coach award, which was almost inevitable, the 2013/14 champions won no further awards throughout the night, despite six nominations. 

Forward Diego Costa scored 27 goals, midfielder Koke created 13 goals and goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois won the Zamora Trophy and kept the most clean sheets, but none were awarded for their efforts.

The best coach and player awards were picked by each club's three captains, the revelation was picked by La Liga coaches and the best goal, best African player and best South American player were picked through internet polls. 

Cristiano Ronaldo
Real Madrid

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again