Joe Root and Stuart Broad selected for ICC Team of the Year

Published Add your comment

Football News

England batsmen Joe Root and bowler Stuart Broad have both been named in the ICC Test Team of the Year.

The Lions have had a mixed summer with the Test, ODI and T20 series against India, however they shone in the Test series coming out with a 3-1 victory.

Root notched three big hundreds; 200, 154 and 149. Root finished the Pataudi Trophy (India in England Series) with a individual series best average of 58.66. Stuart Broad was equally as impressive with the ball as he claimed 19 wickets at an average of 23.00 with best bowling figures of 6/25.

Other Awards

Gary Ballance and Ben Stokes were also revealed as nominees for emerging cricketer of the year award.

Away from England, Kumar Sangakkara and Mitchell Johnson are in the short list to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy (Cricketer of the Year), if they do manage to pick up the prized award, it'll be the first time the award has been won twice by a single player.

Related Articles

Commenting on the India Series, Root said:"Contributing to the side is always something you want to be proud as a player, fortunately, it is one of those things that worked out well for me.

"I knew there was a lot of hard work to do and a lot of lessons to be learnt. I definitely took a lot from that tour (Australia), and tried to come back this summer, being more positive in the way that i played and put the opposition on the back foot when i had the opportunity to and luckily it worked it well."

Cricket World Cup

However the concentration for Root and England now is firmly the seven match series against Sri Lanka building up to the World Cup in Australia.

The Yorkshire batsmen said:"We have got a very exciting squad that we are taking out there (to Sri Lanka), we have a lot of players that want to put there name forward for the World Cup squad and there is no better opportunity than a seven match series against Sri Lanka.

We've not performed to our full potential in the ODI's and having a strong block of ODI's coming up it will help put some consistency in our performance and if we get a string of wins together it will set us up nicely for the World Cup in Australia."

Shortlist of nominees – Individual awards (ECB cricket)

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC cricketer of the year

AB de Villiers (SA)

Mitchell Johnson (Aus)

Angelo Mathews (SL)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

ICC Test cricketer of the year

Mitchell Johnson (Aus)

Angelo Mathews (SL)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

David Warner (Aus)

ICC ODI cricketer of the year

Quinton de Kock (SA)

AB de Villiers (SA)

Virat Kohli (Ind)

Dale Steyn (SA)

ICC Women’s ODI cricketer of the year

Charlotte Edwards (Eng)

Mithali Raj (Ind)

Sarah Taylor (Eng)

Stafanie Taylor (WI)

ICC Emerging cricketer of the year

Corey Anderson (NZ)

Gary Ballance (Eng)

Jimmy Neesham (NZ)

Ben Stokes (Eng)

ICC Associate and Affiliate cricketer of the year

Calum MacLeod (Scot)

Preston Mommsen (Scot)

Mohammad Nabi (Afg)

Samiullah Shenwari (Afg)

ICC Twenty20 International performance of the year

Alex Hales (Eng) - 116 not out (64b, 11x4, 6x6) v Sri Lanka (WT20), 27 Mar 2014

Aaron Finch (Aus) -156 (63b, 11x4, 14x6) v England, 29 August 2013

Rangana Herath (SL) - 3.3-2-3-5 v NZ (WT20), 31 Mar 2014

ICC Women’s T20I cricketer of the year

Charlotte Edwards (Eng)

Meg Lanning (Aus)

Mithali Raj (Ind)

Stafanie Taylor (WI)

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC umpire of the year

All 12 members of the ICC Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires have been nominated.

Kumar Sangakkara
England cricket
Joe Root
India cricket

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again