2014 FIFA Puskas Award shortlist

Published Add your comment

Football News

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are usually the two names dominating proceedings at the Ballon d'Or gala in January, but it is not only the two superstars that get love - the Puskas Award probably provides the best entertainment of the night.

FIFA's Puskas Award is that gong for the best goal of the year and 2014 has the likes of Manchester United striker Robin van Persie, Chelsea star Diego Costa, PSG talisman Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Real Madrid's newest Galactico, James Rodriguez.

Yeah, yeah, Ronaldo and Messi scored loads of goals and were way better than anyone else in doing things like winning games, but that gets boring after a while. What football is really about is scoring an absolute peach and then pulling out your well-practiced and extravagant celebration.

Ok, football isn't really like that, but it is incredibly entertaining. One can't deny that seeing or scoring (though most of GMS would be lying if they tried to clam that we really knew what is was like) a truly magnificent goal is something that can't really be matched.

We give you an advanced warning here: the list of strikes below are going to make you very happy, so it is advisable you get a nice soft comfy seat to sit on while you watch them. There are ten nomination in all and you can vote for which you think should take the prize HERE on the FIFA website.

Related Articles

However, GMS have taken the time to put them all together for you in one place to gets ecstatic about - get a nice warm drink next to you because this may take a few minutes and it will help calm your nerves afterwards. So, get watching…

Tim Cahill – 18 June 2014, Australia v. Netherlands, 2014 FIFA World Cup

Diego Costa – 23 November 2013, Atlético Madrid v. Getafe, Primera División (Spain)

Marco Fabian – 15 February 2014, Cruz Azul v. Puebla, 1a División 2014 Clausura (Mexico)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic – 19 October 2013, Paris St. Germain v. SC Bastia, Ligue 1 (France)

Pajtim Kasami – 21 October 2013, Crystal Palace v. Fulham, Premier League (England)

Stephanie Roche -20 October 2013, Peamount United v. Wexford Youths, BEWNL (Rep.Ireland)

James Rodriguez – 28 June 2014 – Colombia v. Uruguay,  2014 FIFA World Cup

Camilo Sanvezzo – 6 October 2013 – Vancouver Whitecaps v. Portland Timbers, MLS (USA/Canada)

Hisato Sato – 8 March 2014 – Sanfrecce Hiroshima v. Kawasaki Frontale, J.League (Japan)

Robin van Persie – 13 June 2014 – Spain v. Netherlands, 2014 FIFA World Cup

Who would you vote for to win the FIFA 2014 Puskas Award? Do you think there are any goals that aren't on the shortlist, but deserved to be there? GMS can't look past Steph Roche's sensational volley to be honest.

Manchester United
Diego Costa
Robin Van Persie
Premier League
World Cup
James Rodriguez

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again