International Premier Tennis League Format, teams & stars

Published Add your comment

Football News

Some the world's biggest tennis players, past and present, are in the Philippines for the first edition of the lucrative International Premier Tennis League.

The off-season tournament will travel across Asia over the next two weeks, visiting Manila, Singapore, and Delhi, before concluding in Dubai on December 13.

The League has signed up some of the game's biggest stars, and promises to be an entertaining fortnight, as the sport is showcased to new corners of the globe.



The Filipino-based outfit boast an attack led by Britain's Andy Murray and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga. Female representation comes in the form of Maria Sharapova and Kirsten Flipkens whilst home player Treat Huey and Daniel Nestor are the team's doubles specialists. Spain legend Carlos Moya completes the Mavericks' line-up.

When not on the court, Huey will also take up coaching duties, in a player-coach role.


The Singapore franchise is backed by DBS Bank and the Slammers have shelled out for American stars Serena Williams and Andre Agassi. Pat Rafter, Nick Kyrgios, and veteran Lleyton Hewitt will add some Australian influence, while Tomas Berdych, Daniela Hantuchova and Brazilian Bruno Soares make up the eight-man team.

The Slammers will be coached by another Aussie, Joshua Eagle.


Mobile giant Micromax have bought the Indian Aces and the Delhi unit have acquired a star studded group of seven. Roger Federer is the main attraction but he has a strong supporting cast in Gael Monfils, Ana Ivanovic, and 14-time Grand Slam champion Pete Sampras.

Doubles strength comes from Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna whilst popular Frenchman, Fabrice Santoro, is also on the Aces squad as a player-coach.


World number one Novak Djokovic heads the Dubai-based franchised which also includes Denmark's Caroline Wozniacki. US Open champion Marin Cilic and coach, Goran Ivanisevic, bring firepower to the UAE team, with Malek Jaziri, Kristina Mladenovic, and Nenad Zimonjic rounding off the seven.

South African Davis Cup captain, John-Laffnie de Jager is to coach the side.


Each match will be contested over five one-set battles. The men's singles will open proceedings, with the women's singles, mixed doubles, men's doubles and the legend's singles to follow. 

The matches will be played with no advantage scoring - if a game reaches deuce the next point is a decider - with the overall winner of each match to be determined by the number of games won.

That adds extra importance to the final set which could be won by a team who has won less overall games. In that scenario, the match continues until the trailing side catches up on games, unless the other team wins one more game at which point the match will be over. If the games count is levelled, a seven-minute Super Shoot-out will take place to determine the match winner. Are you keeping up?

In addition to an already bursting rule book, if a set reaches five games all, a four-minute Shoot-out game will take place. The player who wins the most points will win the set.

The winner of each match will be awarded four points, the loser will receive two points if they win over 20 games or one point if they can accumulate at least 10. There is no knockout stage.

Roger Federer
Lleyton Hewitt
Maria Sharapova
Serena Williams
Novak Djokovic
Gael Monfils

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again