2014 Slammy Awards leave Seth Rollins covered in glory

Published Add your comment

Football News

Seth Rollins dominated the 2014 Slammy Awards coming away with the most win across the night.

Rollins left having won or contributed to five Slammys out of a possible 22 awards that were given out on RAW tonight.

Single handedly winning the awards for Double Cross of the Year, Anti-Gravity Moment of the Year and Fan Participation of the Year, Rollins was the big winner in his first Slammy Awards since breaking from the Shield.

Speaking of the Shield, they helped Rollins win another Slammy as they were voted as the Faction of the Year.

The other award Rollins contributed towards was the prestigious Match of the Year award which was given to the Team Cena vs Team Authority match at Survivor Series last month.


Rollins won the Fan Participation award for the 'You sold out' he has heard since he destroyed the Shield and unsurprisingly his attack on Dean Ambrose and Roman Reigns won Double Cross of the Year.

His Anti-Gravity Moment of the Year came at Payback in the Shield's match with Evolution when Rollins climbed the set and dived on all other five members of the match.

Despite not being nominated and not chosen as a winner, Rollins also left with the Golden Grappler for the 'This Is Awesome' Moment of the Year which was given for Sting's incredible debut at Survivor Series.

Other big winners

Rollins' former Shield brethren both picked up awards with Roman Reigns being voted as the Superstar of the Year and Dean Ambrose named as the Breakout star of the Year.

Brock Lesnar ending the Undertaker's WrestleMania streak was named as the 'OMG' Moment of the Year whilst the late great Ultimate Warrior was given the Return of the Year award.

AJ Lee was crowned the Diva of the Year and Chris Jericho took the Extreme Moment of the Year for his cage dive onto Bray Wyatt on RAW.

The Usos won Tag Team of the Year and feud between Daniel Bryan and the Authority won Rivalry of the Year.

Full list of winners:

  • Superstar of the Year: Roman Reigns
  • Diva of the Year: AJ Lee
  • Tag Team of the Year: The Usos
  • Faction of the Year: The Shield
  • Breakout Superstar of the Year: Dean Ambrose
  • NXT Superstar of the Year: Sami Zayn
  • Match of the Year:Team Cena vs Team Authority (Survivor Series)
  • 'OMG' Moment of the Year: Brock Lesnar defeating the Undertaker (WrestleMania)
  • 'This Is Awesome' Moment of the Year: Sting debuts and takes down the Authority (Survivor Series)
  • Return of the Year: The Ultimate Warrior
  • Double Cross of the Year: Seth Rollins betrays the Shield
  • Extreme Moment of the Year: Chris Jericho cage dive on Bray Wyatt
  • Anti-Gravity Moment of the Year: Seth Rollins stage dive (Payback)
  • Insult of the Year: The Rock to Rusev and Lana
  • Rivalry of the Year: Daniel Bryan vs the Authority
  • Twitter handler of the Year: Dolph Ziggler
  • Fan Participation of the Year: 'You Sold Out' chant to Seth Rollins
  • Couple of the Year: Daniel Bryan and Brie Bella
  • RAW Guest of the Year: Hugh Jackman
  • 'LOL' of the Year: Damien Mizdow
  • Hashtag of the Year: #RKOOutOfNowhere
  • Best Actor of the Year: The Rock
  • Best Animal of the Year: The Bunny

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms


Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport - WWE Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again