Gareth Bale will never win BBC Sports Personality of the Year

Published Add your comment

Football News

In the 61 year history of the BBC Sports Personality of the Year, only five times has the award been won by a footballer.

Yes, Gareth Bale had a good year, but not one good enough to win the prestigious individual award in 2014.

The five footballers who have won this award, have all done so in a year when they accomplished a huge event on the field.

Bale did score goals in both the Copa Del Rey final and the Champions League final, but it was not a big enough moment to secure him in history.

The five who have won the award before are as follows:

Bobby Moore, the only Englishman to ever captain his side to World Cup glory. Moore won the award in 1966. As well as the winning the World Cup, Moore was, and still is considered one of the best defenders ever.

24 years later, the award was won by a tearful Paul Gascoigne. In Italia ’90, England reached the semi-finals, and their standout player was ‘Gazza’. He captured the hearts of the nation when he broke down in tears after finding out he would miss the final, if England made it.

Then in 1998, another youngster broke onto the scene in a World Cup. Michael Owen. Anyone who knows anything about football, will have seen his goal against Argentina. Owen had announced himself onto the world stage and took the Sports Personality of the Year award home, just six months later.

A victim of the 1998 World Cup was David Beckham. But just three years later, Beckham was announced Sports Personality of the Year. His win was one of the most deserved in the history of the award.

After his dismissal in the 1998 World Cup quarter final - which saw him the focal point of hate - Beckham turned that view around. In 2001, England were trailing to minnows, Greece, and as a result would not make the 2002 World Cup. Beckham had the game of his life and with the last kick of the game, sent England to the World Cup.

The most recent footballer to win the award was Ryan Giggs. He remains the only footballer who did not have a single event that stood out, however in 2009, his efforts were rewarded.

In 2009, Giggs had played for Manchester United for 20 years. That was 20 years at the top level of the game. He was rightfully awarded for his dedication and commitment to the game.

What does the future hold?

Going back to Bale, do not get me wrong. He had a good year. But, if Bale is to win Sports Personality of the Year, he has to go above and beyond.

In just over a year’s time, he may have his chance to do so. If Bale can guide Wales deep into the Euro 2016 tournament, then maybe that will be enough.

Who knows what the future has in store for this young man. But one thing is for sure, the world is at his feet.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Bobby Moore
David Beckham
Michael Owen
Real Madrid
Paul Gascoigne
Gareth Bale

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again