Real Madrid and Bayern Munich dominate UEFA Team of the Year

Published Add your comment

Football News

Real Madrid and Bayern Munich took the UEFA Team of the Year by storm as they secured seven places in the 11 between them with as voters on the UEFA website hailed them among the best players on the continent in 2014.

Manuel Neuer, Philipp Lahm, David Alaba and Arjen Robben formed Munich’s contingent in the team with former Bavarian midfielder Toni Kroos, who moved to Madrid last summer, joined Cristiano Ronaldo and Sergio Ramos in the final selection.

Angel di Maria, who spent the first half of the calendar year at the Bernebeu, also made the cut after inspiring Real Madrid to their tenth European victory and helped Argentina make it all the way to the World Cup final in Brazil.

Scary front three

Cristiano Ronaldo took the lion’s share of the votes as 78% of voters (598,287) wanted to put him in the team while Lionel Messi was only able to secure 49% behind Arjen Robben, Manuel Neuer, Philipp Lahm and Sergio Ramos who managed 61%, 65%, 66% and 75% respectively.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic finished off the terrifying front three with 214,674 votes but was the least popular inclusion in the list with only 28% of voters wanting him in the side.

Who voted?

Not surprisingly Real Madrid fans were the most influential in putting their star man in the team of the year with Madridistas making up 18% of the voters.

But Galatasaray fans were unexpectedly outspoken as they made up for 16% of votes, 5% ahead of Barcelona fans.

And it would appear that the voting process was well promoted in Turkey as Fenerbahce fans accounted for the same amount as Bayern Munich ones on 6%.

UEFA Team of the Year

Neuer, Lahm, Ramos, Alaba, Godin, Kroos, Robben, Di Maria, Ibrahimovic, Messi, Ronaldo

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Toni Kroos
Cristiano Ronaldo
Lionel Messi
Manuel Neuer
Arjen Robben

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again