Indian Premier League 2015 auction results

Published Add your comment

Football News

With 344 players up for auction the 2015 Indian Premier League has once again attracted some of the best players in world cricket and remains the most attractive T20 competition in the world.

Not all the 344 players who entered the auction could be bought but in all there were 122 successful players, 78 Indians and 44 from overseas, as the franchises did battle to secure the best players for their teams.

Once again Yuvraj Singh was the most expensive acquisition with the Delhi Daredevils paying a record £1.6m for his services. This was the second year running that Yuvraj has topped the money list.

There were also some noticeable absentees who were left on the side-lines after the auction. South African Test captain Hashim Amla and Sri Lankan trio Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Mahela Jayawardene were the highlights of those.

So what happened to the English players?

Kevin Pietersen (£205,000), Eoin Morgan (£156,000) and Ravi Bopara (£100,000) were the only three English players to be bought by the various Indian franchises. All three will play for the same franchise – The Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Both Morgan and Bopara have played in the IPL before so will be no strangers to it.

Despite playing in and winning the Australian Big Bash League with the Perth Scorchers, as well as emerging as one of the top run scorers in the competition, Michael Carberry was overlooked and remained unsold, as did Nottinghamshire’s explosive opening batsman Alex Hales.

Good for country cricket

Despite their personal disappointment at not being bought Carberry and Hales’ respective county clubs will be very happy because they will now have their star players available for selection at the beginning of the English county season rather than missing them for around six weeks.

In the 2014 IPL auction ten out of the 11 English players went unsold with only Kevin Pietersen making the grade so, in terms of English players, this year’s competition has shown progress.

The 2015 Indian Premier League will begin on April 8th and will run until May 24th.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Kevin Pietersen
England cricket

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again