Chelsea duo win top prizes at the London Football Awards

Published 1 Comments

Football News

Chelsea duo Eden Hazard and Thibaut Courtois have capped off a brilliant week by winning big at last night's London Football Awards.

Courtois and Hazard seem to have spent more time with silverware in their hands than not this week, coming off their Capital One Cup victory on Sunday only to dominate last night in a celebration of London’s year of football.

Hazard took home Footballer of the Year honours , while Courtois got the prize of the best goalkeeper less than a season into his Chelsea career.

Willow Foundation the beneficiaries

An event which raises money for Willow - the only national charity working with seriously ill young adults aged 16 to 40 to fulfil uplifting and unforgettable special days.

Ji So-Yun made it a hat-trick of awards for the Blues, as the Chelsea Ladies ace went home with women’s player of the year crown.

Wenger gets special prize

Arsene Wenger was given a special award for outstanding contribution to a London club, while Mark Warburton of Brentford won manager of the year and Harry Kane was named young player of the year.

It’s been an excellent week for Chelsea, who followed up winning a trophy on Sunday with a tough win away at West Ham, which helped them maintain their five-point lead at the top of the Premier League.

Soccer AM host, Max Rushden presented the show, with England manager, Roy Hodson, Glenn Hoddle, Jimmy Greaves, Luther Blissett and Geoff Hurst all in attendance to name a few.

Did Hazard and Courtois deserve their awards, or would you have gone in a different direction?

Give us your picks below...

Premier League
Thibaut Courtois
Eden Hazard

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again