John Terry reveals PFA Team of the Year nominations

Published 1 Comments

Football News

Chelsea captain John Terry has raised a few eyebrows with some of his selections for the upcoming PFA Awards - most notably his decision to name Liverpool midfielder Philippe Coutinho as his Player of the Year.

The 34-year-old, who himself has enjoyed an excellent campaign with the Blues, also named two Manchester United players in his Team of the Year - goalkeeper David de Gea and his former teammate Juan Mata - and we know this because the veteran defender revealed his selections via a post on his official Instagram account.

Players are not allowed to vote for any of their current teammates, which meant Terry was prohibited from voting for the likes of Cesc Fabregas, Diego Costa and Eden Hazard, who is the favourite to win the prestigious PFA Player of the Year accolade.

Kane also receives a nomination

Terry named Tottenham striker Harry Kane as his Young Player of the Year, while he also selected the in-form England international in his Team of the Year alongside Manchester City’ Sergio Aguero.

Terry went for a midfield quarter of Coutinho, Mata, Raheem Sterling and, interestingly, Sadio Mane of Southampton.

While in defence, the former England skipper has selected three Southampton players: Nathaniel Clyne, Jose Fonte and his former teammate Ryan Bertrand, plus Arsenal centre-back Laurent Koscielny.

De Gea for Goalkeeper of the Year was the obvious choice, with only Chelsea’s Thibaut Courtois likely to challenge the Spaniard for a place in the 2014-15 Team of the Year.

Coutinho does not deserve top award - Hazard does

Coutinho may receive more votes than he arguably deserves thanks to his eye-catching performances over the past few weeks.

The Brazilian has been superb of late, but has only scored four goals and registered six assists over the course of the current Premier League campaign - stats which pale in comparison to a number of other PFA Player of the Year contenders.

The fact Liverpool are unlikely to secure a top-four finish means Coutinho is arguably even more undeserving of the top individual award - although he may end the campaign with an FA Cup winners’ medal to his name.

The PFA Player of the Year award is likely to go to either Hazard or Kane, both of whom have enjoyed stunning seasons.

With Chelsea set to win their first Premier League trophy since 2010 next month, no player deserves the top award more than Belgium international Hazard.

Who deserves to win the PFA Player of the Year award? Have your say in the comments below!

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

John Terry
Premier League
Juan Mata
David de Gea
Manchester United
Philippe Coutinho

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again