Comparing the Boston Red Sox 2004 and 2013 World Series winning teams

Published Add your comment

Football News

After years of false hopes and shock defeats, the Boston Red Sox have had reason to cheer over the last decade or so.

Two World Series wins, in 2004 and 2013 respectively, mean there are plenty of players the current generation of Red Sox fans will grow up hero-worshipping.

Aside from both teams winning championships though, let's compare the Red Sox 2004 and 2013 championship teams position by position.


Apply to become a GMS writer by signing up and submitting a 250 word test article:

Starting Rotation 2004:

1. Pedro Martinez
2. Tim Wakefield
3. Curt Schilling
4. Derek Lowe
5. Bronson Arroyo

Starting Rotation 2013:

1. Jon Lester
2. John Lackey
3. Clay Buchholz
4. Felix Doubront
5. Ryan Dempster

Winner: 2004.

Although both rotations are very strong, the 2004 rotation had more guys you can rely on to go out and get you a win everyday, where as the 2013 rotation, you really didn't know what you were getting in Ryan Dempster every fifth day.

Catcher 2004: Jason Varitek

Catcher 2013: David Ross

Winner: Jason Varitek

He was everything you could ask for and more in a catcher. He could hit, throw runners out from his knees, block balls in the dirt, you name it, he did it.

First Base 2004: Kevin Millar

First Base 2013: Mike Napoli

Winner: Mike Napoli

This guy had an incredible postseason and was one of the big reasons why the Red Sox beat the Detroit Tigers in the ALCS.

His power and great defense at first provided a spark and fuelled the team when they were down.

Second Base 2004: Mark Bellhorn

Second Base 2013: Dustin Pedroia

Winner: Dustin Pedroia

His tenacious defense and surprisingly powerful bat, carried the Red Sox just as he has his entire career.

Being a former league MVP, 4 golden glove awards, and Rookie of the Year should speak for itself.

Third Base 2004: Bill Mueller

Third Base 2013: Will Middlebrooks

Winner: Tie

Both guys contributed equally to their teams' success with their bats and their work with the leather wasn't awful either.

Shortstop 2004: Pokey Reese

Shortstop 2013: Xander Bogaerts

Winner: Xander Bogaerts

He was a 22-year-old phenom and the youngest player to ever play in a World Series game.

His bat was in large part responsible for salvaging their one win in St. Louis, (2 RBI's) and setting up the series clinching game 6 win in front of the hometown crowd for the first time in 95 years.

Outfield 2004: Manny Ramirez, Johnny Damon, Trot Nixon

Outfield 2013: Jonny Gomes, Jacoby Ellsbury, Shane Victorinio

Winner: 2004.

Jonny Damon was basically guaranteed a lead-off single every time he stepped up to the plate, Manny could hit just about anything, and Trot Nixon ended up on the highlight reel somehow every week. Whether it was his defense, or his grittiness on the field, he found a way to get it done.

So, what team is better you ask? Here are the results

2004: 4

2013: 4

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Boston Red Sox
Boston Red Sox

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again