Reece Topley included as Joe Root rested

Published Add your comment

Football News

Joe Root has been rested and Reece Topley the only uncapped player called up as England announced two limited-overs squads to take on Australia.

Root, an ever-present in England squads in all formats of recent times and winner of the Compton-Miller Medal as man of the series in this summer's Ashes, is rested both from a 13-man squad for next Monday's one-off NatWest Twenty20 international in Cardiff and from a 14-man squad for the five Royal London one-day internationals which follow.

Essex left-arm seamer Topley is included in the Twenty20 squad only.


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250 word test article:

Eoin Morgan will captain both, having led England in their unsuccessful World Cup campaign last winter but also then to success in a thrilling ODI series victory at home to New Zealand.

Morgan has been rested for several matches by Middlesex after losing his form with the bat, but will be back in international colours as expected.

Moeen Ali is back in both squads too, having been injured at the start of the summer, as is his fellow all-rounder Chris Woakes, who was similarly absent until recently with knee and hamstring trouble.

There is, however, perhaps surprisingly, no place for Jonny Bairstow - man-of-the-match for the hard-hitting innings which helped England to an unlikely series-clinching ODI victory over the Kiwis at Chester-le-Street in June, when Jos Buttler was unavailable after splitting the webbing on his hand.

Pace-bowling all-rounder Chris Jordan, back from injury for Sussex, is another who has not got the nod from England this time.

National selector James Whitaker said: "We have made some significant progress in our limited-overs cricket this summer, and the next six games allow these players to continue testing themselves against one of the very best sides in the world.

"This is primarily a young group of players, and the next three weeks will provide them with valuable experience as we continue to identify those who can take our limited-overs cricket forward over the next four years."

Australia are World Cup holders, having beaten New Zealand in the final in Melbourne following England's embarrassing early exit almost six months ago.

England T20 squad (v Australia): EJG Morgan (Captain), MM Ali, SW Billings, JC Buttler, ST Finn, AD Hales, AU Rashid, JJ Roy, BA Stokes, RW Topley, JM Vince, DJ Willey, CR Woakes.

England ODI squad (v Australia): EJG Morgan (Captain), MM Ali, SW Billings, JC Buttler, ST Finn, AD Hales, LE Plunkett, AU Rashid, JJ Roy, BA Stokes, JWA Taylor, DJ Willey, CR Woakes, MA Wood.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

England cricket
Joe Root

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again