UEFA to announce Champs League changes

Published Add your comment

Football News
UEFA are on Friday expected to announce that three Premier League clubs will qualify automatically for the Champions League group phase from 2009.

The fourth-placed Premier League team however are likely to face a much tougher task in making the group stage as they will have to play a qualifying round against another side from the leading leagues in Europe.

Previously, the fourth-placed teams from England, Spain and Italy were almost assured of a place among 32 Champions League clubs by being seeded against a side from a weaker European country in the final qualifying round.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2007, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

European News
Premier League
UEFA Champions League

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again