The visitors were leading 1-0 when England´s goalscorer Wayne Rooney was adjudged to have tugged at Konstatin Zurianov´s shirt inside the area with Spanish referee Luis Medina Cantalejo pointing to the spot. Television replays showed the offence took place outside the box but Hiddink was adamant the official made the right decision.
He told Sky Sports News: "It started outside the box but went inside and the doubt goes in favour of the attacking team."
Copyright (c) PA Sport 2007, All Rights Reserved.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms