Suzann Pettersen has come out and apologised for her behavior on Sunday during the Solheim Cup.
The European had said that a putt on the 17th green had not been conceded when the USA's Alison Lee picked up her ball. The American believed that the putt had been conceded after her first putt ended up around two feet from the hole, subsequently halving the hole.
After Pettersen informed the match referee that the putt had not been conceded, the Europeans were awarded the hole and won the match one up, sparking a fierce debate on the sportsmanship of Pettersen and the European team.
SIGN UP NOW
Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250 word test article: https://gms.to/haveyoursay4
Most in the sport agreed that the putt should have been conceded and the teams should have moved onto the 18th tee all square. And, furthermore, for the sake of sportsmanship it was widely seen that Pettersen should have withdrawn her complaint to the referee.
Criticism for Pettersen's actions came from both sides of the Atlantic. Four-time major winner and European Solheim Cup legend Laura Davies said she was "disgusted" while USA captain Juli Inkster said it was "disrespectful".
After originally defending her position, Pettersen posted an apology via her Instagram account. She stated that she had "never felt more gutted and truly sad" about what happened on Sunday.
She also said about placing the spirit of the Solheim Cup into disrepute, saying: "I am so sorry for not thinking about the bigger picture in the heat of the battle and competition. I feel like I let my team down and I am sorry."
On apologising to the USA team, she said: "I hope in time the U.S team will forgive me."
The incident seemed to give the USA team added motivation as they turned around a 10-6 deficit going into the singles to win by 14 1/2 points to 13 1/2 and take the trophy back to the USA.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms