Ballon d'Or 2015: 23-man shortlist revealed

Published Add your comment

Football News

The 2015 Ballon d'Or nominations shortlist has released and it is dominated by players from Real Madrid, Barcelona and Bayern Munich.

Familiar faces Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, who are expected to top the voting, are joined by five Premier League stars. 

Manchester City's Kevin de Bruyne, Yaya Toure and Sergio Aguero make up the Premier League quota with Chelsea's Eden Hazard and Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez.


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250 word test article:

Wales and Los Blancos star Gareth Bale is the only British player on the list and his Bernabeu team-mates Karim Benzema, Toni Kroos and James Rodriguez make the cut.

Supporting members of Barcelona's devastating attacking trio, Neymar and Luis Suarez, are joined by Andres Iniesta, Ivan Rakitic and Javier Mascherano.

German giants Bayern Munich have five players in contention. Manuel Neuer is the only goalkeeper in the 23. Thomas Muller, Arjen Robben, Arturo Vidal and Robert Lewandowski also represent the Bavarians.

PSG's Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Juventus midfielder Paul Pogba complete the nominees.

La Liga dominates the list with 11 players playing from Barcelona or Real Madrid. Attacking players also vastly outweigh defenders.

Argentine Messi has been tipped to win the award for a sixth time and is odds on favourite with Sky Bet, who have the 28-year-old at 1/5.

Ronaldo, unsurprisingly, is second at 4/1 with Robert Lewandowski, who has scored 16 goals in 12 games this season, at 16/1.

Messi and Ronaldo have dominated the award over the previous seven years. Only once in that time have they not been the top two - in 2010 when Iniesta finished ahead of the Portuguese superstar.

The shortlist is cut to three on November 30 before the awards ceremony on January 11.

Here is the complete shortlist

Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/VfL Wolfsburg/Manchester City), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain), Andres Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Thomas Muller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Paul Pogba (France/Juventus), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/FC Barcelona), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/FC Bayern Munich), James Rodriguez (Colombia/Real Madrid), Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona), Yaya Toure (Côte d'Ivoire/Manchester City), Arturo Vidal (Chile/Juventus/FC Bayern Munich).

Premier League
Lionel Messi
La Liga
Cristiano Ronaldo
Real Madrid
Bayern Munich

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again