Rugby Union

Australia and New Zealand name teams ahead of World Cup final

Published Add your comment

Football News

Australia and New Zealand have announced their sides for this year's Rugby World Cup final.

The All Blacks make no changes to the team that beat South Africa in their thrilling, and, at times, nail-biting semi-final.

Australia have made a single change to their side that knocked impressive Argentina out of the World Cup, with Loosehead prop Scott Sio returns to the fold.


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250-word test article:

The 24-year-old was impressive in the games against Wales and England, notably giving England Tighthead prop Dan Cole a torrid time at the scrum. He then suffered an elbow injury against Scotland, but also suffered heavily in the scrum against Scottish prop WP Nel. Sio will have an easier matchup this Saturday, though, against New Zealand prop Owen Franks.

Matt Giteau, the only remaining member of Australia's side from the 2003 World Cup final, has been cleared to play despite a groin injury that forced him off against Argentina before the 50-minute mark.

Inspirational Australian full-back, Israel Folau, has also regained fitness after struggling with an ankle injury since the group stages.

Four New Zealand players, Dan Carter, Ma'a Nonu, Conrad Smith and Kevin Mealamu, have confirmed that the match will be their final game for the All Blacks. Nonu and Smith will partner each other in the centres for the 62nd time in Tests, keeping mercurial Rugby League convert, Sonny Bill Williams on the bench.

It is also suspected to be the last match for New Zealand captain, Richie McCaw.

The teams in full

Australia: Israel Folau; Adam Ashley-Cooper, Tevita Kuridrani, Matt Giteau, Drew Mitchell; Bernard Foley, Will Genia; Scott Sio, Stephen Moore (captain), Sekope Kepu, Kane Douglas, Rob Simmons, Scott Fardy, Michael Hooper, David Pocock.

Replacements: Tatafu Polota-Nau, James Slipper, Greg Holmes, Dean Mumm, Ben McCalman, Nick Phipps, Matt Toomua, Kurtley Beale.

New Zealand: Ben Smith; Nehe Milner-Skudder, Conrad Smith, Ma'a Nonu, Julian Savea; Dan Carter, Aaron Smith; Joe Moody, Dane Coles, Owen Franks, Brodie Retallick, Sam Whitelock, Jerome Kaino, Richie McCaw, Kieran Read.

Replacements: Keven Mealamu, Ben Franks, Charlie Faumuina, Victor Vito, Sam Cane, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Beauden Barrett, Sonny Bill Williams.

Who has the stronger squad ahead of the World Cup final at Twickenham? Give your opinion in the comment box below!

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing up and submitting an article HERE:

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

New Zeland Rugby
Rugby Union
Australia Rugby
IRB Rugby World Cup

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport - Rugby Union Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again