Puskas award 2015: Fifa release ten-goal shortlist

Published Add your comment

Football News

Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi is the most prestigious name on the ten-goal shortlist for the 2015 Puskas award.

The accolade will be awarded to the player who scored the best goal of 2015 at January's Ballon d'Or ceremony.

The Blaugrana star is joined on the list by big-name stars Carlos Tevez and Phillippe Mexes, along with Fleetwood Town's David Ball and Women's World Cup winner Carli Lloyd.


Do you have what it takes? Sign up today and send your 250-word test article:

The award has been in circulation since 2009, but Messi is yet to claim the prize. He has been nominated in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

The goal that is up for nomination was his incredible solo effort in Barcelona's 3-1 Copa Del Rey final victory over Athletic Bilbao.

There are some pretty special goals on the list, but we will let you make up your own mind on what you think should win.

Real Madrid's James Rodriguez won the award in 2014 for his stunning volley in Colombia's 2-0 win over Uruguay in the 2014 World Cup.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic topped the tree in 2013 for his unbelievable overhead kick in Sweden's friendly win over England. 

Miracle man Messi

Regardless of whether Messi wins this year's Puskas award, he is the odds-on favourite to win the Ballon d'Or.

The four-time winner was in fine form throughout the previous campaign as he scored 58 goals to help the Catalan club to a historic treble.

The 28-year-old has been out of action since injuring his knee in September and looks set to miss the Clasico clash with Real Madrid on November 21.

Which goal do you think should win the 2015 Puskas award? Let us know by leaving a comment below

Carlos Tevez
Lionel Messi
La Liga
AC Milan

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again