2015 FIFPro World XI: 55-man shortlist revealed

Published Add your comment

Football News

A 55-man shortlist for the FIFPro World XI has been revealed - and there are one or two surprises.

Manchester United captain Wayne Rooney somehow makes the list, despite the fact he has struggled for form this season, while Diego Costa doesn’t feature even after scoring 20 goals in the Premier League last term and helping Chelsea win the title for the first time since 2010 in the process.

However, most of the usual suspects are included and you can see the full 55-man shortlist by scrolling down the page.


Apply to become a GMS writer by signing up and submitting a 250-word test article:

United’s David de Gea will be hoping to land the goalkeeper’s position in the World XI but faces stiff competition from Gianluigi Buffon, Iker Casillas, Keylor Navas and Manuel Neuer.

Most of the world’s top defenders, meanwhile, feature - although Chelsea’s Branislav Ivanovic can consider himself fortunate to have made the shortlist when you consider how poorly he has performed in recent months.

Too many good players

In midfield, it’s hard to look past the likes of Sergio Busquets and Andres Iniesta after they won another historic treble with Barcelona last season.

Paul Pogba should be close to the XI after a superb year with Juventus, while Chelsea’s Eden Hazard - the Premier League’s current Player of the Year - also stands a decent chance of making the final line-up.

Guessing which of the forwards will make the XI, however, is a far tougher task.

Lionel Messi will surely be in it - the Barcelona forward is likely to win the Ballon d’Or in January - but how do you separate Neymar, Luis Suarez, Cristiano Ronaldo, Robert Lewandowski, Thomas Muller and Sergio Aguero?

Predicted 2015 World XI (4-2-3-1)

Manuel Neuer, David Alaba, Gerard Pique, Javier Mascherano, Daniel Alves, Sergio Busquets, Paul Pogba, Neymar, Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Luis Suarez.

The full 55-player shortlist


Gianluigi Buffon (Italy, Juventus)
Iker Casillas (Spain, FC Porto)
David De Gea (Spain, Manchester United)
Keylor Navas (Costa Rica, Real Madrid CF)
Manuel Neuer (Germany, FC Bayern Munich)


David Alaba (Austria, FC Bayern Munich)
Jordi Alba (Spain, FC Barcelona)
Daniel Alves (Brazil, FC Barcelona)
Jérôme Boateng (Germany, FC Bayern Munich)
Daniel Carvajal (Spain, Real Madrid CF)
Giorgio Chiellini (Italy, Juventus)
David Luiz (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain)
Diego Godín (Uruguay, Atlético Madrid)
Mats Hummels (Germany, Borussia Dortmund)
Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia, Chelsea)
Vincent Kompany (Belgium, Manchester City)
Philipp Lahm (Germany, FC Bayern Munich)
Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid CF)
Javier Mascherano (Argentina, FC Barcelona)
Pepe (Portugal, Real Madrid CF)
Gerard Piqué (Spain, FC Barcelona)
Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid CF)
Thiago Silva (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain)
John Terry (England, Chelsea)
Raphaël Varane (France, Real Madrid CF)


Thiago Alcantara (Spain, FC Bayern Munich)
Xabi Alonso (Spain, FC Bayern Munich)
Sergio Busquets (Spain, FC Barcelona)
Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea FC)
Andrés Iniesta (Spain, FC Barcelona)
Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid CF)
Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid CF)
Andrea Pirlo (Italy, New York City FC)
Paul Pogba (France, Juventus)
Ivan Rakitic (Croatia, FC Barcelona)
James Rodríguez (Colombia, Real Madrid CF)
David Silva (Spain, Manchester City)
Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast, Manchester City FC)
Marco Verratti (Italy, Paris Saint-Germain)
Arturo Vidal (Chile, FC Bayern Munich)


Sergio Agüero (Argentina, Manchester City FC)
Gareth Bale (Wales, Real Madrid CF)
Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid CF)
Douglas Costa (Brazil, FC Bayern Munich)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris Saint-Germain FC)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland, FC Bayern Munich)
Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona)
Thomas Müller (Germany, FC Bayern Munich)
Neymar Jr. (Brazil, FC Barcelona)
Arjen Robben (The Netherlands, FC Bayern Munich)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid CF)
Wayne Rooney (England, Manchester United FC)
Alexis Sánchez (Chile, Arsenal)
Luis Suárez (Uruguay, FC Barcelona)
Carlos Tevez (Argentina, Boca Juniors)

Who will make the FIFPro World XI? Name your teams by leaving a comment below!

Lionel Messi
Real Madrid
Cristiano Ronaldo
Manchester United
Wayne Rooney

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again