Ballon d'Or 2015: three man shortlist announced

Published 36 Comments

Football News

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar make up the three-man shortlist for the 2015 Ballon d'Or. 

23 players were nominated for the award by FIFA and France Football magazine back in October, but the aforementioned trio are now the only players left in the running. 

Portuguese superstar Ronaldo is the current holder of the prestigious honour, but Messi appears to be the favourite to win back the prize he last secured in 2012. 


Want to become a GMS writer? Sign up now and submit a 250 word test article:

The Barcelona man was recognised as the world's best player for four years running before Ronaldo claimed top spot in 2013.

Neymar, on the other hand, will take to the podium for the first time after a glorious year for the Catalans. The Brazil international was in formidable form for Barcelona as Luis Enrique's side secured an unprecedented treble. 

Messi the man 

But, it has to be Messi's year once again. A scorer of 43 goals in 38 games in Spain's elite division last season, the Argentine acted as the club's talisman. 

Unsurprisingly, Messi provided moments of genius throughout the year, so surely he will once again be crowned the world's greatest player. 

Ronaldo will no doubt run him close, but he may have to watch his rival take this one home. Neymar will be in contention over the coming years and it will only be a matter of time before the captain of Brazil replaces Messi and Ronaldo at the very top. 

Do these three deserve to take to the podium? Have your say below! 

Lionel Messi
Luis Suarez
Real Madrid
Cristiano Ronaldo

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again