England learn their World Twenty20 opponents

Published Add your comment

Football News

Eoin Morgan's England have been drawn alongside fellow former winners West Indies, holders Sri Lanka and South Africa in the group stage of next year's World Twenty20 in India.

The quartet will be joined by the Group B winners - Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong or Afghanistan.

England, victors at the 2010 tournament in the Caribbean, take on 2012 winners West Indies in Mumbai on March 16, followed by matches against South Africa (March 18 in Mumbai), the Group B winners (March 23 in New Delhi) and Sri Lanka (March 26 in New Delhi).

India, winners of the inaugural tournament in South Africa in 2007, are in Super 10 Group Two along with 2009 winners Pakistan, trans-Tasman rivals Australia and New Zealand, and the Group A winners - Bangladesh, Holland, Ireland or Oman.

The hosts will begin their campaign against New Zealand in Nagpur on March 15.

The International Cricket Council announced the schedule at the launch ceremony in Mumbai on Friday. The competition will take place at eight venues from March 8 to April 3, with Mumbai and New Delhi staging the semi-finals and Kolkata the final.

ICC chairman Shashank Manohar, who attended the draw, said: "India is a country where cricket is a religion and not many places can match the passion for the game like India.

"I am fully confident that the Board of Control for Cricket in India will deliver an outstanding world cricket event, just like the ICC Cricket World Cups in 1987, 1996 and 2011."

ICC chief executive David Richardson said: "The ICC World Twenty20 is an event which puts the world's best cricketers in the shortest format of the game against each other in a nation-versus-nation contest.

"The Twenty20 format provides the perfect vehicle by which the ICC can further globalise the game, providing international exposure and opportunity to our top associate and affiliate members.

"The ICC World Twenty20 event structure is designed to provide highly competitive matches throughout, with eight evenly matched sides fighting it out in the first round and the best two then getting in the mix with the top eight ranked teams in the Super 10 stage, where the intensity and competition will be of the very highest level."

Zimbabwe will face Hong Kong in the tournament opener in Nagpur, with Sri Lanka beginning their title defence in Kolkata on March 17.

The top two sides from each Super 10 group will qualify for the semi-finals.

The Super 10 stage will be played alongside the women's event, from March 15-28.

A total of 58 tournament matches - 35 men's and 23 women's - will be played in the 27-day tournament in Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamsala, Kolkata, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi.

Australia's women will be aiming to win fourth straight title.


Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again